My First EggTimer Assembly Fail

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SecondRow

Reaction score
It was bound to happen — I’m a novice when it comes to soldering. But I’ve successfully built about 7 or 8 of Cris’s products, and they all work great. That streak ends tonight, because I bricked the shlt out of my Quark.

First, I got a bridge on the 14 pin processor. No need to worry. I‘ve fixed bridges before. But instead of fixing it, I managed to bridge a third lead. It then went downhill from there, because panic set in. Next thing I know, two of the leads are bent, parts of the trace have come off and I think I melted a pad off. :facepalm: On the plus side, I learned how to use solder wick. On the negative side, I learned too late.

Here’s an accurate recreation of my evening:

I need a drink.

Welcome to the Hammer Mechanics Union-Electrical Division! You've been chosen to recieve an all dues paid lifetime achievement medal with the barbed wire cluster. All Hail!

I'm pretty good at soldering, even surface mount. It was part of my job for many years. My problem now is that I'm having troubles getting the parts *to* the circuit board. I got all of an Apogee altimeter done except the surface mount cap. So far it's carpet=2, pcb=0.

Don't feel bad... I've bricked a few in my days. I fried two prototype ION's on the same day, I didn't have the "right" 1S battery with the JST-PH connector, so I used a 1S battery with a standard JST connector that I had laying around. Yup, I plugged a 2S into that connector and fried the IONs. As soon as I didn't get the startup beep, I knew...

@SecondRow, good thing it was a Quark!