MWP 11 - memories

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rrwjr

Reaction score
Well it’s hard to believe 1 week ago I was able to participate in MWP11. A lot of time and effort went into preparing for it. Not only by the people who put on the event, Thank you QCRS and Wildman Hobbies but even as a flier there is quite a bit of prep put into getting ready and getting to this event. I thought I would share some memories and pictures of a very special weekend.

This year was going to be my 2nd year and I thought I had a great plan. Last year as a newbie I was so overwhelmed with everything that went on it was hard to remember to prep and launch a rocket. This year was going to be different (or so I thought). I had planned what I was bringing and what I was going to launch very carefully. By way of Murphy’s Law my job and life got in the way and I wasn’t as prepared as I wanted to be. This year was also going to be just me and my youngest son. No Mom to supervise the kids (yes I am referring to myself as a kid as who isn’t at MWP)?

We left on Thursday the 31st around 11:00am to embark on the 3 plus hour drive to Princeton Illinois. I decided a picture of our fleet was in order so while it was raining outside we found a place to snap a picture.

ready to go.JPG

Off we went, I checked and re-checked my list, yep we had everything. About 20 minutes down the road I realized that my rocket table and chairs were not in the vehicle. Why weren’t they on the list- I always keep them in my suburban. It just so happened that I had to take them out earlier in the week to pick something up for my wife. Well there was no way I could survive the weekend without my table and chairs. Back home we went, and reloaded. Back on the road again we were pretty lucky as it only rained for 2 hours and 55 minutes of my drive there instead of the full 3 hours and 15 minutes.