Movie night

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rex R

LV2
Reaction score
I recall the early 70's Friday night we would watch 50's sci fi on the telly. Mother would pop some corn life was good. We had a popper that sat on the counter. Then came nuker corn..imagine my surprise at the grocery store to find jiffy pop and glass "microwave" poppers that looked much like the old style poppers, and probably as much fun to clean
What goes around, comes around

We would sell popcorn as a fundraiser for scouts when I was a kid, it had a plastic bag with two compartments one with the kernels and the other was a tube of butter. We would pop them in a big pot on the stove.

...I've been using an old 80's air popper for a couple years now, they tell me grandpa's popcorn is the best....

I use one of those too and add my own light amount of butter and salt.

PS - off-topic tangent regarding your Tim the Enchanter avatar. There is a popular guitar overdrive effect pedal, the Timmy, which is named after that character, and the most recent incantation of it features a sillhouette of his visage:
Screen Shot 2022-04-10 at 9.52.23 PM.png
https://www.humbuckermusic.com/coll...chrane-timmy-15th-anniversary-overdrive-pedal

During the mid-60's and throughout the '70's channel 9 in the Los Angeles region hosted two programs. Science Fiction Theater which catered to all those great '50's and '60s Sci-Fi flicks and Fright Night hosted by Larry "Seymour" Vincent where you could view all the old monster and horror movies, many of which starred the likes of Vincent Price and Christopher Lee.

Good Times were had by all!!

My favorite night is Saturday night. I kick back and watch Svengoolie. Don't eat popcorn any more, though. Too many carbs.