Motor Hooks?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

accooper

Reaction score
Anyone here make their own motor hooks, and if so, what do you make them out of?

Andrew

I've never used them, but I've seen some rockets with them. I reckon they work pretty well.

If I don't have a hook handy when I'm building a rocket, I just leave it off and friction fit the motors. I've never had any problems with friction fitting, and the rocket looks more clean without a hook.

Thanks for the info. Have you ever tried this.

Andrew

Absolutely. The only "store bought" motor hooks I have came in kits. Nearly all my scratch builds have motor hooks made this way. I would challenge you to tell the difference.

I've been using the windshield wiper wire for the past three years, it works great. I agree with the Pear, you can't tell a difference.

Just go to your local auto parts store, the old blades are in the trash. Or just replace your blades.

man, you guys are the tops. All these great ideas to help an old BAR like me. You know, no one will bother me when I go through trash cans, cause I'm old. :D

Andrew

Two things to be aware of in your search.

1) Tons of wiper refills use all plastic guides, and are useless to us.

2) The metal guide strips do come in various sizes. Very handy for making hooks for various sizes of rockets. But, you do have to sort out your collection some times to match.

I agree that it is amost impossible to tell the difference, even from my own stash.

I was like a old dude. I went and picked through the trash of my closest auto parts and found some old windshield washer blades and all you guys were right. I now have the materials to make quite a few hooks.