Motor ejection charge and SLCF

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

loxley

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to rocketry and I'm a little confused on how the motor ejection charge triggered (sorry if that's not the correct terminology). To deploy the parachute we are relying on the motor charge, the motors delay is 14 seconds. So if I wanted to deploy the parachute earlier, could a stratologger or timer be used to trigger this motor charge?

The delay element in a motor is a slow-burning smoke charge that burns its way through to the ejection charge. when the burning in the delay element reaches the ejection charge, it goes off.

I'm guessing you have an Aerotech DMS motor with an adjustable delay if your delay is 14 seconds. If I'm right, about that, you adjust the delay with the drilling tool at the link below. If I'm wrong, then you need to either find the delay drilling tool that goes with your motor or tell us what kind of motor you have so we can point you to the right one. The drilling tool cuts away part of the delay element, effectively making it shorter so that it takes less time to burn through and set off the ejection charge.

Frankly, I would advise not worrying about electronics until you have this kind of stuff down, but they are used to set off their own ejection charges independent of motor ejection charges. A lot of the time, rockets flying with electronic deployment have no motor ejection charges at all.

https://wildmanrocketry.com/products/uddt?_pos=1&_sid=143c5da30&_ss=r

The delay element in a motor is a slow-burning smoke charge that burns its way through to the ejection charge. when the burning in the delay element reaches the ejection charge, it goes off.