MJG Firewire Initiator for Dual Deployment

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

ntsgators

Active Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2020
Messages
27
Reaction score
6
Does anyone have any experience using MJG Firewire Initiator with the EasyMini altimeter with the 3.7V Lipo battery they make? Since Quest Q2G2 ignitors were able to fire in that configuration, I would assume MJG Firewire Initiator would also work, but I rather ask then purchase them and find out they don't work.
 

burkefj

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
3,063
Reaction score
366
yes that's what I use exclusively for my rockets, easy mini with the MJG firewire and 1s lipo, 100% in many 10s of flights since I ran out of q2g2's

Does anyone have any experience using MJG Firewire Initiator with the EasyMini altimeter with the 3.7V Lipo battery they make? Since Quest Q2G2 ignitors were able to fire in that configuration, I would assume MJG Firewire Initiator would also work, but I rather ask then purchase them and find out they don't work.
 

ntsgators

Active Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2020
Messages
27
Reaction score
6
And also do you know if you can airstart a motor using them?
 

rharshberger

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2014
Messages
9,417
Reaction score
1,484
Location
Pasco, WA
Can you airstart a motor with an MJG? CTI, yes. But I would still augment it with something. Aerotech motor, nope.
Certain motors yes, Aerotech motors for most formulations will need to have the Firewire augmented with a pyrogen dip of some type, CTI motors with the starter pellets should be okay with just a MJG Firewire (up to 54mm iirc).
 

burkefj

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
3,063
Reaction score
366
Just commenting that the answers for air starting are wrt the mjg igniters, not to the easy mini which won't do air starts afaik.
 

cerving

Owner, Eggtimer Rocketry
TRF Sponsor
TRF Supporter
Joined
Feb 3, 2012
Messages
3,654
Reaction score
891
Certain motors yes, Aerotech motors for most formulations will need to have the Firewire augmented with a pyrogen dip of some type, CTI motors with the starter pellets should be okay with just a MJG Firewire (up to 54mm iirc).
I think CTI is actually shipping Firewire's now... the newer motors come with a blue and white ematch instead of the older yellow ones, and I think that color scheme is exclusive to the Firewire. They don't light up quite the way that the old ematches did, so a little dip in your favorite pyrogen wouldn't hurt.
 

ntsgators

Active Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2020
Messages
27
Reaction score
6
Just commenting that the answers for air starting are wrt the mjg igniters, not to the easy mini which won't do air starts afaik.
I have an Eggtimer Classic that I plan to airstart motors with
 

rharshberger

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2014
Messages
9,417
Reaction score
1,484
Location
Pasco, WA
I think CTI is actually shipping Firewire's now... the newer motors come with a blue and white ematch instead of the older yellow ones, and I think that color scheme is exclusive to the Firewire. They don't light up quite the way that the old ematches did, so a little dip in your favorite pyrogen wouldn't hurt.
I believe you might be right Cris, there are usually quite a few blue and white wire igniter wires in the "pad trash", and we have quite a few CTI fliers (and spotty CTI availability). I personally have flown fewer than 10 CTI motors.
 

electricmatch

Active Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
41
Reaction score
11
And also do you know if you can airstart a motor using them?
for motors without black powder pellets, like aerotech, you should use these.


they are not for altimeters though, only motors. Aerotech should be supplying them with some motors already, as they buy them black and 6 foot long.
 

electricmatch

Active Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
41
Reaction score
11
I think CTI is actually shipping Firewire's now... the newer motors come with a blue and white ematch instead of the older yellow ones, and I think that color scheme is exclusive to the Firewire. They don't light up quite the way that the old ematches did, so a little dip in your favorite pyrogen wouldn't hurt.
They are firewire. I'm curious if you had issues with them lighting the CTI motors, as we haven't heard anything yet. Please email me at info@electricmatch.com to discuss this further.
 

ntsgators

Active Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2020
Messages
27
Reaction score
6
for motors without black powder pellets, like aerotech, you should use these.


they are not for altimeters though, only motors. Aerotech should be supplying them with some motors already, as they buy them black and 6 foot long.
Thank you for clarifying
 

cerving

Owner, Eggtimer Rocketry
TRF Sponsor
TRF Supporter
Joined
Feb 3, 2012
Messages
3,654
Reaction score
891
They are firewire. I'm curious if you had issues with them lighting the CTI motors, as we haven't heard anything yet. Please email me at info@electricmatch.com to discuss this further.
I'll email you, but for the record I have not had any problems at all with the Firewire's lighting CTI pelletized motors.
 

o1d_dude

'I battle gravity'
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
7,924
Reaction score
799
Location
Planet Urff
Early on, Firewire Initiators were considered only for use at the launch pad and not for use in setting off deployment charges where ignition had to be 100% reliable.

I have a few Firewire Initiators left and a large number of “motor starters” from an unnamed but well known informal source.
 

Rocketjunkie

Addicted to APCP
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
4,076
Reaction score
285
Firewires have the same no fire and all fire currents as regular J-Teks. They worked with ATF and reformulated the pyrogen so it's not regulated. CTI motors with pellets will have a bare Firewire while the other motors will have a dipped Firewire. I don't know about the tiny ones for motors like the F30. The dipped ones will light Aerotech motors.
For dual deployment, you can use Firewires just like any of the regulated ematches.
 

JDcluster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
5,287
Reaction score
78
Location
New Jersey
Do you make them with 3 ft leads? 6ft are a waste of wire for most of what I do.

for motors without black powder pellets, like aerotech, you should use these.


they are not for altimeters though, only motors. Aerotech should be supplying them with some motors already, as they buy them black and 6 foot long.
 

Rocketjunkie

Addicted to APCP
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
4,076
Reaction score
285
Do you make them with 3 ft leads? 6ft are a waste of wire for most of what I do.
The web site shows 3 ft leads. Go to the FireWire page, scroll down to shopping area, and select package.
I have both 7 ft and 3 ft lengths (J-Tek), will be going to FireWires next time. No reason to keep an ATF license for J-Teks.
 
Top