Minimum diameter rocket rail buttons

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FlyBy01

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
So Wildman on the Black Friday sale had a Carbon Mach 2 for a price I didn't resist. I have no experience with minimum diameter rockets other than low power and my idea is to use a PEM nut to mount the aft rail button. Idea 2 is to use a blind nut without the teeth and epoxy inplace.

If you have some experience and picture prefered; please post

Apogee also makes rail guides you can epoxy onto the exterior of the airframe if you don't want to risk anything hanging up the laundry from the inside.
Giant Leap Rocketry also sells the Acme aluminum rail guides that you use JB Weld to attach to your minimum diameter airframe. They are more aerodynamic than rail buttons.

Attachments

• D87E718D-2222-4C32-BB96-6D8220FAC243.jpeg
    D87E718D-2222-4C32-BB96-6D8220FAC243.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 3
All the above pretty much nailed it!

I have a Mach 2 and my basement is the semi-permanent home to @rfjustin 's launch tower. So, I use the tower. :)

Also, you will love the Mach 2, it is a wonderful rocket, really simple but devilishly complex given that it is minimum diameter.

I have removable motor adapters for mine that allows me to launch it on 29mm and 38mm motors as well.

It's so light (even the FG version) that you can fly it on G motors with an adapter (below) or go full send on an L1090W......or somewhere reasonable inbetween.

Let me find those pics.....

20221105_110317.jpg20221105_110411.jpg20221105_110520.jpg20221105_110605.jpg20221105_110739.jpg

Last edited:
Those motor adapters are made simply with a LOC motor adapter kit, a centering ring that you will grind down to act as a thrust ring, an aeropack retainer, some 1/8" kevlar, and some #6-32 hardware.