Midnight Express build (paper rocket)

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fatdaddynerd

Reaction score
This is my first build thread on TRF. Be gentle with me, I am a BAR. I have been looking at paper micro rockets and they look really fun, but i thought i should nimble up my big meaty paws with a LPR prior to tackling tiny lil micros. So here it goes.
I am going to start with the free Fliskit "Midnight Express" I like the looks and it comes with a blank template that I have my three year old future modeler scribbling on as I type. On to the project...
build1.jpg

I will be using this batch of paper I picked up from Wally World for a whopping $5.88

build paper.jpg

Seems pretty straight forward and looking over the instructions I begin work on the body tube
1.jpg

It said use a table to begin rounding the paper but I found this small piece of PVC to worked just fine.

2.jpg

A bit of extra tight rolling at the edges to get a good curve at the seam

3.jpg

Then tucked it neatly away and moved on to the cone, so far so good.

4.jpg

Last edited:
As I am cutting out the cone and contemplating its assembly I realize that there will be a large white seem visible where I attach the the pieces together due to the thick mil of the card-stock.

6.jpg

To aid in the aesthetics I decided to try and use a colored pencil to blend the edge in with its surroundings (also went back and did the same to the body tube). I briefly considered using a marker but was afraid the glue would make it bleed since all i had available were washable crayola markers.

7.jpg
8.jpg

Now to glue it without getting it everywhere I will be using a toothpick for an applicator and Aleene's tacky glue to hold it all together.

9.jpg