Mercury Engineering - RDR 1

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Eventually it drifted over the flight line and into the field behind us. Since this was my last flight of the day, I decided to pack up and pick up the rocket while driving out.

RD-f1s.jpg

RD-f1t.jpg

As I drove up it looked like all was well. That was as I expected since everything about the flight seemed positive.

RD-f1u.jpg

Closer examination, though, showed that 2 of the 3 fins had chunks broken loose on the trailing edges. The fin that was not affected was the one that was coated in epoxy several repairs back.

I was at a loss to explain this based upon what I had seen. I now wonder if it could have been due to fin flutter at speed but I have no experience with this. In any event, I will try to repair it.

RD-f1v.jpg

That really doesn't look like flutter to me. When a fin flutters, you usually lose material at the tip. My guess is it just hit something particularly stubborn on landing and was dragged away from the culprit by the time you got there. I have been wrong before, though.

The most likely candidate is the nose cone itself. I have had fins damaged when the nose cone rebounds and catches the fins in just the right position to damage them.

I thank y'all for your input. Have no experience with the issue, I'm clueless.

I like the RDR1 but have had a bad feeling about the balsa fins since day 1. I just realized that the last posted photo only shows the damage to one fin. A second fin has similar damage in the analogous place but it is much less severe, being more of a cracking and spliting than what the photo shows.

The last flight of my RDR1 resulted in some more broken balsa on the trailing edges of the fins. While I do not care for the balsa, I do like the rocket and decided to fix it up...again.

break-1.jpg

break-2.jpg