Making fiberglass tubes as good as vac bag... without the vac bag

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Barkley

Reaction score
I'm a newbie on RF and can't update my profile until I have a minimum post count, so here's a contribution to the forum that will allow me to ... gasp... upload a pic maybe.

The basics:

your mandrel must be hard, and the right diameter for the INTERIOR diameter of your component, and STRAIGHT
the materials matter. A lot. Use the wrong epoxy or mold release and you're basically guaranteed to fail. Speaking from experience on this one.

So... this method works really really well. People at my club were impressed, especially when I told them there was no vac bag involved.

The materials:
Frekote 770 NC mold release. works beautifully. if you aren't going with this, please please please use the dry based agents. I cut 3 perfect tubes off mandrels before I learned my lesson.
mylar film. the thinner the better. If you use Frekote your mylar doesn't really matter.
West System 105/206. Great epoxy. I use nesting cups and fill the bottom one with ice water to give me a longer pot life if it's over 85F where I'm laying up the glass.
I use .4oz cloth from Fiberglast. More wraps with a lighter cloth gives you more control over the overall strength and weight of your finished product.
Airtech econoply for the peel ply. It works very very well.
shrink film. You don't have to be specific with this, as long as you can wrap the whole piece.
heat gun or hair dryer

The process:
spray the mandrel with the Frekote. I put down 3 thin coats.
cut the mylar film to fit the mandrel. 1 wrap with 30%ish overlap.
wrap the mylar film around the mandrel, taped only at the ends. it needs to be tight - no bubbles, no wrinkles. sometimes the middle of the mylar will rise a bit - if it's less than 1/4" that isn't a problem.