Madcow Super DX3 Build aka My License to Learn

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrblack859

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I do apologize if this thread is a bit lackluster since it is my first post of any substance. To introduce myself, I am a new resident of Louisville, KY and recently finished my bachelor's degree. With that out of the way, I now have time to do something fun outside of work and my heart has landed on hobby rocketry. Up until a few years ago, I would launch various Estes rockets every now and then on land owned by the church I attended, but my hobby at the time never progressed much further than that. With renewed interest and determination, I purchased a Madcow Super DX3 to begin my foray into HPR and L1 certification. I also purchased an avionics bay since it sounded convenient, but I'm not yet sure what it's role will be in this build...Lots to figure out! Here are some goals/characteristics/requirements that I have, which may or may not be appropriate for this build (let me know your thoughts!) :
  • Body
    • Bright orange for visibility
  • Motor
    • Low and slow
  • Recovery
    • Single deployment
  • Avionics
    • Altimeter, accelerometers, data logging device, camera(?)...Ideally I would like to have the e-bay ready for dual deployment without actually doing it.
I feel that I should mention that I do have some experience with building balsa airplanes (wrapping up a SIG Four Star 20EP build right now), epoxy, and alignment jigs, though the fit and finish of my model airplanes has always been terrible since I'm always in a rush to get them flying lol. Any advice is appreciated! I will be perusing the technique forum for the next little while...