Looking for telemetry system for high altitude rocket

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheLastBilly

Reaction score
I just join my university's rocketry club, and my first task is to find a telemetry system for our next rocket. Our goal is to reach the 100 km mark, and constantly receive information from the sensors within the rocket during the flight. As you might realized, I'm no expert when it comes to telemetry or rocketry in general, but I do have some experience with electronics and ham-radio (I'll be applying for my Basic license in a couple weeks).

The club previously tried to use an RFD 900+ as a link between base and the rocket, but it failed during testing. Also, I've found telemetry links like the TeleMega, the MT-200, and the AIM-XTRA, not sure if they can be used like a RFD thought.

Do you know any transceivers that we can use for this particular project? Also, please let me know if I need to supply any more information (I imagine I do).

For this kind of range I'd go with the Digi XBee-PRO SX -- range of 105 km dipole-to-dipole, you'll probably need a higher-gain antenna on the ground.

For this kind of range I'd go with the Digi XBee-PRO SX -- range of 105 km dipole-to-dipole, you'll probably need a higher-gain antenna on the ground.
I just suggested that one to the group, and looks like they have have had bad experiences with xbee modules in the past, and are also ruled out. But do you know any instances in which that module was used? Maybe I could you them to the group leader to see what he thinks

I use the Xbee Pro XSC in rockets all the time with good results, but you have an irrational reason to not use them, whatever.

I don't know of any commercial rocket telemetry systems that have enough range.

What is your weight budget?

How much volume is available to electronics?

What antenna design are you looking at?