Looking for guidance

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

synch2112

Reaction score
Hello all, I'm Jim and I am a 58 year old who built more rockets (kits to be fair) from Estes and Centauri (may have misspelled that one) when I was a kid, and I am now a teacher. I do a rocket unit with my students at the end of the year that puts math and science together. We use hypsometers to estimate the rockets altitude. I know hysometers are old school, but I want the math component in the lesson. I am considering getting into higher powered rockets as a hobby, and I don't want to screw it up. I saw an ad for the Estes Doorknob, and it looked like a good entry point. I am looking for guidance on how to recover said rockets, and what sort of progression through the levels of flight some have taken. I would love to be able to launch a higher-powered rocket when I have my kids launch theirs. I use Estes Generic EX with either B or C engines depending on wind conditions for the day. I've got a nice-sized athletic field to launch from with a small town surrounding it. Is there a good GPS locator that I can use with a phone app (Android) to locate a rocket? I know I'm probably already getting too specific, but I am curious, and I have to think that many have already gone through something like this since rockets shouldn't be a one use type of item. I am a couple years from retirement, and I would love to do rocketry in my olfd age;)!