Quantcast

LightSail 2 Deploys Solar Sails! Looking out for it in the night sky?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

Yukon@K-9 Rocket Tech

Just a teen who likes building rockets
TRF Supporter
Reaction score
So I guess Bill Nye the science guy must he happy today

http://www.planetary.org/blogs/jason-davis/ls2-deploys-sail.html

The Light Sail 2 spacecraft is awesome! Demonstrating solar sail technology! Looking at the satellite tracker, I would assume you would be able to see it in the sky.

https://www.n2yo.com/satellite/?s=44420

Now I'm not a expert satellite watcher, nor have I ever succeeded (I always remember after it rains boo hoo!) But looking at the amount of reflective foil on LightSail 2 I would assume that it would be extremley bright if it reflects the sun on a perfect viewing position. Tell me what ya'll think. Can you see this? and If you can, will you be looking out for it? I want to try at least

Just wanted to share this cool news!

MichaelRapp

Reaction score
It should be decently bright, from what I understand. We just have to wait for its ground track to get a bit more north. When I last looked it would be only 12 degrees above the horizon for just a few moments this week for latitude 30.

Yukon@K-9 Rocket Tech

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
It should be decently bright, from what I understand. We just have to wait for its ground track to get a bit more north. When I last looked it would be only 12 degrees above the horizon for just a few moments this week for latitude 30.
Good point thanks!

Yukon@K-9 Rocket Tech

TRF Supporter
Reaction score

MClark

Reaction score
It could be like an Iridium Flare.
If the sail is flat enough, if the angle is right, if you are in the right spot it would be really bright.