Lenghten my current launch controller?

ascastil

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2013
Messages
278
Reaction score
11
Just got my L1 so I need a longer wire going out to the pad. Maybe a stupid question but can I add 70ft to my Aerotech launch controller?
 

dhbarr

Amateur Professional
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 30, 2016
Messages
8,293
Reaction score
2,716
You can, but you'll be taking your voltage drop from X to nearly 3X ( AT controller has 40ft to begin with ).

My guess is you'll be fine for simple H/I, but if you're clustering (200ft total) I'd probably use a 4s LiPo pack.
 

paulm

High Desert Rocketeer
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
Messages
48
Reaction score
1
You can minimize any voltage drop concerns by using larger gauge wire.
 

ascastil

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2013
Messages
278
Reaction score
11
Maybe i should open up the at controller and try and make a new one. It sure as hell wont be pretty because i am not an electrical guru. What gauge would I use for 100ft of wire going to the pad?
 

samb

Lifetime Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
4,403
Reaction score
854
Location
Plano, TX
Maybe i should open up the at controller and try and make a new one. It sure as hell wont be pretty because i am not an electrical guru. What gauge would I use for 100ft of wire going to the pad?

IMO - 16 gauge. Something like this:


2 wire
2-wire 100ft.png


3 wire
3-wire 100 ft.png
 

jeff_j_black

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2014
Messages
235
Reaction score
2
I put the battery and an automotive 12volt relay at the pad and use speaker wire for to connect the controller. This way you borrow a little bit of the current to close the relay and the rest of the current only has to travel a few feet to the igniter(s). I have lit 4x clusters, mid-power motors and yes even the dreaded Copper-Head off of 8 AAs.
 

Steve Shannon

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
7,928
Reaction score
5,795
Location
Butte, Montana
I put the battery and an automotive 12volt relay at the pad and use speaker wire for to connect the controller. This way you borrow a little bit of the current to close the relay and the rest of the current only has to travel a few feet to the igniter(s). I have lit 4x clusters, mid-power motors and yes even the dreaded Copper-Head off of 8 AAs.

That's the smart way.


Steve Shannon
 
Top