Launchers Single vs Multi

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

poke44

Reaction score
Well as many of you know or dont i am a teacher at a small country school in Arkansas... the closest rocket group i know of is in Tulsa, OK. I was thinking of getting a 12v pratt hobbies 6 launcher system for around 120 vs getting a single 12v launch system for around 40-45. I have to get one or other as the TARC team needs to ignite RMS loads.

Reasons for multi
pro
1. have school launch with elementary
2. start rocket club in area when i get NRA number in (still waiting)
3. Cool factor

possible cons
1. ease of use
2. cost
3. trasport and storage (no idea on size though dont think its too much bigger)
4. Provides as much juice to ignite motors (probably not an issue but need to ask)

any other things people can think of please comment upon them

I asked somebody about this very controller a few days ago and this is the reply I got:

"I still have the 6 pack launch controller and it was working the last time used it. I wouldn't recommend it however. It uses 24 gauge wire for the internal wiring including the high current paths for the igniters. "

I guess it comes down to how much current you want to reliably send through the system.

I'll take a different approach and definitely recommend Doug's controllers!!! They're perfectly fine and great for any LPR/MPR launching; the key is having a good 12v battery hooked up to it.

Here's the thread on the, 8-position, one I had Doug make up for me.

Pratt, 8-Position, Launch Controller

I store the launch controller, the 12v battery, all cords, blast deflectors, and clothes pins in a rolling tote. Makes it super easy for launches.

Poke44: