Quantcast

launch site conditions and rocket selection

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

JohnCoker

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2013
Messages
1,991
Reaction score
644
Still working on the new ThrustCurve.org, I added support for launch conditions (altitude and temperature) in the simulation code. I was thinking of adding launch conditions as a global preferences, but then I thought it might be more useful per-rocket or even each time the guide was run. I don't want too many options (that just makes things confusing), so I'm wondering if you tend to launch at the same place or multiple places and if multiple places do you launch different rockets in different places or all your rockets in a variety of places.

Note that I'm taking about significantly different conditions (thousands of feet altitude or cold vs hot temperatures). For example, the last two launches I attended were LUNAR (112ft altitude, 80℉) and AERO-PAC (3960ft altitude, 95℉). That makes a significant difference (about 7% difference in apogee for one rocket).
 

markkoelsch

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
4,364
Reaction score
148
John, I really like the current version. I worry that a simple and very effective tool may become too much, so to speak. Where do you draw the line?

Add temperature and altitude. What's next- wind speed and launch angle? Not saying you shouldn't do that, but it would complicate things a bunch. Then you are bordering on a full boat simulator ala OR, Rocsim, or Rasaero.

I am for features as long as it does not become over complicated to use, or too complicated to write and maintain for you.
 

Wayco

Desert Rat Rocketeer
TRF Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
3,614
Reaction score
566
Location
Goodyear, AZ
I'm with Mark on this, keep it simple. We fly at a lot of different locations, but I don't change my sim's for each one. If I have a rocket that might tickle the waiver, I will adjust conditions in OR, but Thrust curve is for picking motors that will fly the field.
 

JohnCoker

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2013
Messages
1,991
Reaction score
644
Sounds reasonable. I will continue to focus on the missing pieces that prevent me from making the new implementation live (admin pages and support for the API used by the phone app).
 

GrouchoDuke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2016
Messages
1,030
Reaction score
430
FWIW, I've been cheating and modifying my Cd values to match the real altitudes I'm seeing at my local launch site. That doesn't let me look at variations between different motor at different launch sites, but it at least tells me the semi-close number I should see with the different motors at my home drome.

I think it'd be cool to have altitude & temp in there. A global setting that you can modify per motor guide query would be awesome. Like Wayco said though, it's pretty easy to use ThrustCurve to whittle down the motor choices then throw them in OpenRocket.

Thanks for the great site!
 

Steve Shannon

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
6,584
Reaction score
3,381
Location
Butte, Montana
Our home field is 5,666'. The vast majority of my launches happen there. Once or twice a year I try to go somewhere else. Almost any place I go besides Colorado will be a couple thousand feet or more different, but will result in lower flights. What you now have works for me. Thanks! Wind direction isn't important because it changes at different altitudes. I don't expect ThrustCurve to do all that, but I would not say no.
 

Incongruent

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2016
Messages
1,735
Reaction score
5
If you do add the extra features, it might be better as a list of additional attributes, so if a more realistic simulation is desired, that's an option, but the quick and simple version that is used most can still be used.
 

Buckeye

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
2,612
Reaction score
464
I'm with Mark on this, keep it simple. We fly at a lot of different locations, but I don't change my sim's for each one. If I have a rocket that might tickle the waiver, I will adjust conditions in OR, but Thrust curve is for picking motors that will fly the field.
I agree. I say keep the Thrustcurve Motor Guide focused on thrust and motors.
 

Zeus-cat

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
4,584
Reaction score
788
Guys in my club occasionally use thrustcurve at our launches. Now I personally don't use it as my smart phone just ain't all that smart, but the other guys type data on their phones. The more stuff you have to type on a phone I think the less likely people would use it, or the more prone it is to typing errors. We use it for quick and dirty checks to make sure the proposed motor is a good choice for the rocket or that we will not exceed our waiver altitude. So keep it simple please.
 

rstaff3

Oddroc-eteer
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
11,759
Reaction score
14
I don't use Thrustcurve fo sims, but maybe keep a 'default' as the basic sim and then have an 'advanced' tab for those who what to twiddle with more parameters.
 

Maxter

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
118
Reaction score
8
I love the simple but, a "no Sparky" option would be nice.
 
Top