Quantcast

Late drogue deployment using RRC3 altimeters

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

pensfan1

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2018
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
We are flying to close to 4000" with redundant electronics. On our first flight we noticed that the first drogue charge fired late as well as the second drogue charge. Both seemed to fire the same amount past where they should have fired. Has anyone else seen these issues with that altimeter? This is our first time using that altimeter, we have used Perfectflite for years without issue.
 

Buckeye

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
2,553
Reaction score
411
4000 inches, eh? That's not enough to trigger a flight by the altimeter. ;)

How do you know when they "should" have fired? Many altimeters are programmed to fire at apogee + 1 second. I believe the RRC3 is a recording altimeter, so plot the data and see what is happening.
 

Titan II

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2013
Messages
947
Reaction score
135
Have many RRC3s. All charges fire as programmed. As Buckeye said, look at your data.
 

Jee3300R

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2017
Messages
56
Reaction score
25
I’ve noticed that some altimeters seem to fire momentarily after apogee or atleast it looks that way from onboard videos (raven, adept22, ARTS, etc.). However, from my experience both the RRC3 and SLCF fire at what looks to be exactly the right time from the onboard.
 

Exactimator

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2014
Messages
850
Reaction score
133
If you review the data as others have suggested and find the charges fired after apogee:

The RRC3 has a programmable delay when it's used for redundancy (you definitely need the delay so you don't set of both full charges at once). Since your set-up is redundant, it's possible both altimeters accidentally got set with the delay. I suggest double-checking the settings.
 

QFactor

L2 - NAR & TRA
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
180
Reaction score
100
Location
Ohio
We are flying to close to 4000" with redundant electronics. On our first flight we noticed that the first drogue charge fired late as well as the drogue charge. Both seemed to fire the same amount past where they should have fired. Has anyone else seen these issues with that altimeter? This is our first time using that altimeter, we have used Perfectflite for years without issue.
Did you program the RRC3's thru the dip switches or the mDACS program? If you used mDACS, you can print out how you programmed the RRC3 - as long as you saved the file. Post the file if you can. They we can see how the RRC3's were set up.

And if you're saying both units fired charges at the same time, it sounds like you some how programmed both units them with the same conditions.

And like "Buckeye" pointed out, the 4000" (333') barely triggered the "arming" of the RRC3. Its default arming altitude is 300'.
 

llickteig1

KLOUDBusters Chief Logistician
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
1,667
Reaction score
349
Location
Wichita, KS
Please make certain your electronics has sufficient venting to the outside air and not blocked by something. Hole size should be based upon the volume of the compartment housing the electronics.
 
Top