L3 Certification Advice

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rocket501

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I have been L2 certified for about a year now and am looking on going larger and getting my L3. I am a college student and fly at Tripoli Central California, which is currently closed due to the pandemic. I am in contact with the two TAP's, but was hoping to get some advice so I can give them a good proposal.

At first I was planning on using a Madcow Fiberglass DX3 XL, Aerotech M1350 DMS, and eggtimer electronics for my project, but I think that there may be more affordable options available.

As for rocket kits, I am also looking at some Wildman options (Competitor 4 and the Wildman Extreme) which seem to be roughly comparable at a lower price. I have heard they don't come with any instructions, but that doesn't bother me. Is there any other reason to choose the madcow rocket over wildman's?

The other option I am looking at is Performance Rocketry's Arcas with upgraded nosecone and 75mm motor mount. Has anyone flown this or a similar rocket of theirs? The Arcas is one of my favorite sounding rockets, so I'd love to have something inspired by it as a kit, but I have no experience with canvas phenolic as a fin material. Is it roughly comparable with fiberglass?

I'm sure all of these kits can be built to survive an L3 attempt, but I'd love to hear what people who have built them think.