Quantcast

Kudos to Jolly Logic

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

PokerJones

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 29, 2015
Messages
673
Reaction score
19
Location
DFW
My thanks to John Beans at Jolly Logic. I had a problem with my Chute Release the first time I used it at our last launch. A quick email to John the next day and the issue was resolved promptly and professionally. I appreciate many of the fine vendors we have in this hobby and want to acknowledge it when I receive exemplary service. Thanks again John, top notch!
 

Ccolvin968

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2016
Messages
314
Reaction score
0
What happened with your Chute Release?
Just curious because we had an issue the other day at our year end launch where it never released at all.
Apparently one of the guys there was a Beta User/Assistant Developer for the Chute Release and he inspected it.
According to him, there was no user error involved.
Not sure what happened after that though.
Just ordered a Chute Release and Altimeter Three! Can't wait to get it!!
Good to know I have good customer support on my side if anything happens.
 

crossfire

Lifetime Supporter
TRF Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
4,537
Reaction score
537
I used the JLCR for 3 flights at MWP and it worked perfect each time. A friend of mine had 4 flights and it worked each time. Maybe the flyer how had the JLCR not work for him had no vent hole in the rocket tube. The largest chute I used it on so far was 60".
 

iqsy59

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
932
Reaction score
9
Mine is still at a 100% success rate. I did have one failure that was a direct result of user error...I tried to pack it into too small of a rocket which caused only a partial deployment. Chute Release functioned flawlessly, however, and the rocket was tumble-recovered with only minor damage.

I do feel guilty that I convinced a friend to purchase one at GRITS. I did not observe the prep, but he attached the CR to the cone while the chute was attached to the shock cord at 1/3 length. The result wasn't pretty. The cone took the CR with it at ejection but the chute couldn't follow... deployment at apogee and the rocket drifted into a grove. Both were lost on their maiden flight.

Make certain that the CR and your chute are attached to the same anchor point!

I will vouch for Mr. Beans' outstanding service, however. I was having a problem with my Altimeter3 and he repaired it and had it back to me in no time. Outstanding customer support!

Cheers,
Michael
 
Last edited:

noffie79

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2015
Messages
1,340
Reaction score
13
I use my CR at every single launch. Game changing device. I have farm fields around my house, so I have plenty of room to launch any time I want. I've only had a few failures, but they were due to the user, not CR. Recently purchased an Altimeter 3 and together they are awesome. I had a small issue with my altimeter, and John went above and beyond to take care of this costumer.
 

llickteig1

KLOUDBusters Chief Logistician
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
1,670
Reaction score
357
Location
Wichita, KS
I used the JLCR for 3 flights at MWP and it worked perfect each time. A friend of mine had 4 flights and it worked each time. Maybe the flyer how had the JLCR not work for him had no vent hole in the rocket tube. The largest chute I used it on so far was 60".
Am I missing something? Why is a vent hole needed? Isn't the JLCR out in open air holding the chute bundle together after the motor eject event?

--Lance.
 

rcktnut

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2009
Messages
1,659
Reaction score
225
Location
Sheboygan WI
Am I missing something? Why is a vent hole needed? Isn't the JLCR out in open air holding the chute bundle together after the motor eject event?

--Lance.

I have a JLCR, have not used it yet and was also wondering if a vent/port hole is needed. Haven't seen the need in the instructions. Would be good to get an answer on it now.
 

noffie79

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2015
Messages
1,340
Reaction score
13
I have a JLCR, have not used it yet and was also wondering if a vent/port hole is needed. Haven't seen the need in the instructions. Would be good to get an answer on it now.
No static ports are needed
 

crossfire

Lifetime Supporter
TRF Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
4,537
Reaction score
537
I think I was thinking of the Alt 1 2 3s Your right on the CR
 

ksaves2

Lifetime Supporter
TRF Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Messages
6,049
Reaction score
337
I had my first two successes and MWP 14. Three failures previously. One a line tangle where the chute couldn't get free and one a ballistic flight and the later, a CATO. The last two were of no issue with the JLCR. It released inside the rocket on the ballistic one
and released immediately on the CATO after ejection but just didn't have enough altitude for the chute to deploy. Figured out the chute protector arrangement and I suspect I'll have nominal flights from here on out. Kurt
(Oh both rockets with the bad flights were FG and survive to live on and both chute releases survive and continue to work fine.)
 
Top