Quantcast

JoJo's first NAR launch

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

JoJo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2004
Messages
147
Reaction score
0
YAY im going to my first NAR club launch on saturday, at wich my tlp ALARM will be making it's first appearence (yay). it's called the NOVAAR NAR club ( in case any of you are members there). but i do have one question before i go. the box on my ALARM says it can take an estes D engine(wich fits fine without an adapter) but it wont fit estes E engine (hangs way out the back) so does this mean that aerotech E engines are the same length and diameter as estes D engines or was i supposd to do something diffrent to make it able to fit aerotech E engines.
 

shockwaveriderz

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 25, 2002
Messages
2,466
Reaction score
1
jojo:

most AT E size engines, SU and reloads are the same size as the estes D....

I am assuming you glued an engine block in the motor mount tube? If so, thats why an estes E that is 3.75 verus 2.75 sticks out so far...

You could try and scrape out that engine block, and sand the area smooth so an E could be fitted..use tape to hold the engine in whether it be estes D, AT E, or Estes E... OR

the Model will still probably be stable even with the Estes E sticking out an inch or so
 

JoJo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2004
Messages
147
Reaction score
0
nah i was just wondering so i don't waste my money on aerotech motors that dont fit. thanks for the info
 

BlueNinja

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
2,690
Reaction score
1
I know the AT E30 is the same size as a estes D. I don't have a pic.

Also, with a 24/40 reload casing you can put an F in that rocket.
 

JoJo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2004
Messages
147
Reaction score
0
well the first flight of my alarm at the NOVAAR launch at great medow (in case any of you were there) went okay went okay except it lost a fin. i guess i'll pick up a couple of E24's thanks for your help.
 

Karl

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
2,456
Reaction score
24
I have the TLP AlARM , is this the one with the resin cast nosecone that ways a tone? E's would stick out a few inches or so but I'd say it'd be stable ! Has anyone flew this rocket on a single D before , if so how high does the thing go?
-Karl
 

JoJo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2004
Messages
147
Reaction score
0
Originally posted by Karl
I have the TLP AlARM , is this the one with the resin cast nosecone that ways a tone? E's would stick out a few inches or so but I'd say it'd be stable ! Has anyone flew this rocket on a single D before , if so how high does the thing go?
-Karl
i did. it wasn't very high but it was okay
 

hokkyokusei

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2012
Messages
2,895
Reaction score
2
Originally posted by Karl
I have the TLP AlARM , is this the one with the resin cast nosecone that ways a tone? E's would stick out a few inches or so but I'd say it'd be stable ! Has anyone flew this rocket on a single D before , if so how high does the thing go?
-Karl
TLP Alarm doesn't have a cast resin nose cone. I have to check, but I don't think I've ever flown mine on a D.
 

Karl

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
2,456
Reaction score
24
Sorry I've just checked the instructions , mine's the Physics Of Flight ALARM. And it weighs 8oz dry.
-Karl
 
Top