Igniter test circuit design

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I found a great paper by Robert Briody titled Electric Current Requirements of Model Rocket Igniters dated 2000. I plan on reproducing his test setup, but I'm not an Electrical Engineer and want to understand the design of the "Current Sense Resistor" in the bottom right of the attached diagram. I plan on testing both large igniters (up to QuickBurst Fat Boy) requiring 12V batteries down to MJG e-matches using 9V batteries or small LiPo (either 1S or 2S) batteries used in Dual-Deploy. How is the resistance value of the "Current Sense Resistor" calculated? How do I calculate the proper wattage for the resistor? Should it be 1 watt, 10 watt, 20 watt, etc... Or, is there a better test circuit design in general for this test? I realize this design is based on a launch controller circuit and could be simplified. Any guidance and advice will be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• Igniter test circuit design.jpeg
    Igniter test circuit design.jpeg
    67.6 KB · Views: 48
The "Current Sense Resistor" will develop a voltage suitable for the o scope, 6A would give you a 1V signal, and the resistor would need to be a 10W resistor.

A current sense resistor just turns a voltage into a current that is suitable for measuring. That is how most multimeters measure current, and an easy way for a scope to display current since they typically display voltage.

The current sense is based on Ohm's Law. E = I*R
Which is the Voltage across the resistor = the resistance times the current through the resistor.
Just rearrange to get current from Voltage measurement: I = E/R