Quantcast

I need some help from a Computer Specialist

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

Woody's Workshop

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
4,295
Reaction score
193
Location
Reed City, Michigan (Lower)
I've tried to download Openrocket many times, from many sites.
It seams my computer wants to assign Acrobat Reader, but it's a .jar file, zipped I'm sure.
I've downloaded JAVA, and worked my through all the files to try and associate JAVA to Openrocket.
All I can get when I try to open, Openrocket is a mili-second flash of a small window on my monitor.
This is driving me crazy!
I have RocSim, but with K'Tesh doing all he is doing, there is no sense in me building the same rocket if I don't have to.
Can anyone out there help with me getting this so I can install Open Rocket?
I have Win 10 using FireFox.
AMD FX 6300 3.50GHz C6 AM3+ RET2, GeForce GT 740 2GD3 DVI HDMI VGA, 8GB DDR3 1866 PC3-14900 Ripjaws
 

cyberwollf

Active Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Have you tried to run it from command line? Try "javac -v" that should ensure that Java is installed and on your path
 

markkoelsch

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
4,364
Reaction score
148
Start Menu
Control Panel
System
Default Apps
Bottom of page is Choose Default Apps by file type What is the JAR File associated with? This would be the value/program to the right of the .jar entry.
 

Woody's Workshop

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
4,295
Reaction score
193
Location
Reed City, Michigan (Lower)
cyberwollf, You would have to walk me threw that, I'm no expert by any means. I wouldn't know where to start.


markkoelsch, Mine doesn't show default Apps, I'm looking for that. But not sure what to do after I find it.
 

Woody's Workshop

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
4,295
Reaction score
193
Location
Reed City, Michigan (Lower)
I'm not getting anywhere.
I found default apps, .jar is set to JAVA
No place to type or paste anything in
I just get a flash of a small window and nothing happens
errrr, this is frustrating
 

Woody's Workshop

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
4,295
Reaction score
193
Location
Reed City, Michigan (Lower)
I try right click, open with, c:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre1.8.0_111\bin\ and try and open with every file listed.
All I get is a quick flash of a small window, then nothing.
*throws empty plastic glass at wall*
 

blackbrandt

That Darn College Student
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
9,281
Reaction score
41
Are you clicking on the OpenRocket .jar file? I go to the Windows button, type in openrocket, select Openrocket. You want to right click on this and select "Open with Java (TM) Platform SE binary. This will allow openrocket to be launched using java.
 
Last edited:

blackbrandt

That Darn College Student
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
9,281
Reaction score
41
I put mine in my C:/Users/User/Documents/Rocket Stuff folder.
 

Nytrunner

Pop lugs, not drugs
TRF Supporter
Joined
Oct 15, 2016
Messages
7,773
Reaction score
3,404
Location
Huntsville AL
Getting OpenRocket running on my windows 10 machine wasn't as straight forward as some mentioned here. I had to pull in my brother (IT background) to do something and get my Java to run it. Unfortunately, I've had the shortcut in for months and don't remember how he did it.
 

dhbarr

Amateur Professional
Joined
Jan 30, 2016
Messages
7,007
Reaction score
1,458
Long Story Short, win10 isn't very Java friendly.
 

Steve Shannon

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
6,617
Reaction score
3,436
Location
Butte, Montana
My Open Rocket jar file is in "Program Files" on my C: drive.
I had a similar problem when I first installed OR. In order to see what was flashing past I ended up
1. Opening a command prompt window. I'm going to call it my DOS window even though that's not true. It's shorter to type with my thumb.
2. Changing directories until my DOS window is the folder where the JAR file is.
3. Typing in the name of the JAR file and hitting enter. Actually you only need to type the first character and then hit TAB and it will fill in the file name. Then hit ENTER and read any errors.

That should get you closer.
 

Lowpuller

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2013
Messages
2,230
Reaction score
12
Woody,

Try this, go here and be sure you have the latest version of Java.
 

Rex R

LV2
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
6,101
Reaction score
144
shouldn't the 1st step be; check to see if Java is installed? check the start menu under 'J', if installed Java will show up here. I have heard of folks down loading java and not installing it...:).
Rex
 

Lowpuller

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2013
Messages
2,230
Reaction score
12
Actually the first step is make sure the power is turned on..................😀😀😀😀😀
 

Rex R

LV2
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
6,101
Reaction score
144
True but, given that Woody has been posting from said comfuser I figured that he had already done that step :).
Rex
 

Steve Shannon

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
6,617
Reaction score
3,436
Location
Butte, Montana
Doing the command line sequence I described will tell you if java has been installed, but if you just check for java first, and it has been installed, then you will still need to do the command line sequence. So starting with the command line can save time.


Steve Shannon
 

Woody's Workshop

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
4,295
Reaction score
193
Location
Reed City, Michigan (Lower)
Yes, have the latest version of JAVA, and it is installed.
I will try the DOS thing.
I learned on dos, probably forgotten most of what I know, but remember enough to get me that far.
I even went to the Windows Store and downloaded and installed their JAVA installer.
That didn't work either, it just stuck on the opening page of the installer which was a white screen with the pink square in the middle.
I got so frustrated last night I just went to bed.

Dos prompt got me nowhere either.
Can't find the file, even though I know it's there.
errrrr, not this morning. I haven't had enough tea yet.
 
Last edited:

The_Lone_Beagle

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2014
Messages
716
Reaction score
3
Actually the first step is make sure the power is turned on..................����������
First step--> make sure computer & monitor is plugged in! :)
 

jderimig

Sponsor
TRF Sponsor
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
3,302
Reaction score
728
Go to command prompt. Type Path, see if a Java path is listed.
 

Bat-mite

Rocketeer in MD
Joined
Dec 5, 2013
Messages
10,986
Reaction score
1,740
Location
Maryland
Let's make sure the .jar isn't corrupt.

Right-click the icon for OpenRocket. Make sure you are right-clicking the actual downloaded JAR file, not a shortcut. Select Properties.

Go to the General tab. Look for the following:

Type of file: Executable Jar File (.jar)
Opens with: Java(TM) Platform SE b
Size: 21.1MB (22,211,882 bytes)


Got to the Security tab. Look for:

Read & execute Allow is checked


If all of that is good, try this. Right-click your task bar (bottom of the screen where the Start button is). Select Task Manager. Got to the Processes tab.

Launch OpenRocket. Does anything regarding Java show up in the Task Manager?
 

jderimig

Sponsor
TRF Sponsor
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
3,302
Reaction score
728
Do you have a path to
\ProgramData\Oracle\Java\javapath ?
 

Woody's Workshop

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
4,295
Reaction score
193
Location
Reed City, Michigan (Lower)
Everything is as you say...EXCEPT Opens with says acrobat reader.
No matter what I do, I don't seam to be able to change that.
Well I got it change to java (TM) Platform SE binary.
All I get is a quick flash of the same little window, and nothing

Let's make sure the .jar isn't corrupt.

Right-click the icon for OpenRocket. Make sure you are right-clicking the actual downloaded JAR file, not a shortcut. Select Properties.

Go to the General tab. Look for the following:

Type of file: Executable Jar File (.jar)
Opens with: Java(TM) Platform SE b
Size: 21.1MB (22,211,882 bytes)


Got to the Security tab. Look for:

Read & execute Allow is checked


If all of that is good, try this. Right-click your task bar (bottom of the screen where the Start button is). Select Task Manager. Got to the Processes tab.

Launch OpenRocket. Does anything regarding Java show up in the Task Manager?
 
Last edited:

markkoelsch

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
4,364
Reaction score
148
This is, based on what you just said, the default application issue I explained earlier. No matter what you do, if the jar is set to acrobat it will not open.

You need to sort that out.
 
Top