How to protect chute when using JL chute release in a 54mm rocket?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chris_H

Reaction score
I have never used a Jolly Logic Chute release before, but it seems like the good choice for a 54 min. dia. project I am working on right now.

I am planning on using a 36" Fruity Chutes Compact Iris elliptical chute, which when the canopy is folded into a 4" long package, fills the diameter of the airframe fully.

The charges will be placed below the chute. I am concerned with the charge damaging the chute. It seems like, with care, a nomex cloth wrap could be made that will work with the chute release, but I do not know.

How does one reliably protect a chute in this scenario?

I have never used a Jolly Logic Chute release before, but it seems like the good choice for a 54 min. dia. project I am working on right now.

I am planning on using a 36" Fruity Chutes Compact Iris elliptical chute, which when the canopy is folded into a 4" long package, fills the diameter of the airframe fully.

The charges will be placed below the chute. I am concerned with the charge damaging the chute. It seems like, with care, a nomex cloth wrap could be made that will work with the chute release, but I do not know.

How does one reliably protect a chute in this scenario?

Hi Chris,

I have not packed at any fruity chutes in a 54mm tube but I have regularly used it with 36” flat chutes. During my ground testing, I found the rubber band of the JLCR was grippy against the air frame. It was neseccary to tightly wrap it with nomex to get the bundle to smoothly slight out. On my AMW White Wolf I even successfully tried wrapping with some streamer wadding to get smooth action.

I have also begun adding some dog barf again to help protect the recovery system.

Hope that info helps, but I know is not quite what you need.