How to do Multi-staging in OpenRocket [SOLVED]

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kenn Honson

Reaction score
I'm a newbie to OpenRocket and I don't do rocketry irl (I just love making these rockets that go high in OR)
So, is there any visual tutorial on how to do multi-staging in OpenRocket?
I don't understand the wiki (It doesn't seem to work)...

Last edited:
Simple, in Design view, select the top item (rocke name) the under "Add new component" a 'stage' is available. Click on it for dialog.
Then back the the left there will now be a 'stage' in the parts tree, Select and add the BT, fins, MM, etc.
Don't forget to set a tube to be a motor mount.
Now in Motors and configuration, there will be two motors required. Select and run sim.

Simple, in Design view, select the top item (rocke name) the under "Add new component" a 'stage' is available. Click on it for dialog.
Then back the the left there will now be a 'stage' in the parts tree, Select and add the BT, fins, MM, etc.
Now in Motors and configuration, there will be two motors required. Select and run sim.
111.PNG

I have bulkheads and a tube coupler but it still doesn't work :/

What are you expecting to see? The screen shot you posted as two stages - though neither is 'flight ready'. I can tell because there are two boxes/buttons above the 2D view with the names of the stages. - You can turn the 2D view of each stage on and off.

As Wltr mentions, the next step is to go to the motors and configurations tab and select a motor for each stage. I find it helpful to name the motor mount inner tube uniquely for each stage so I can be certain I'm picking the right motor for each one.

There are a lot of settings for when stage separation occurs, when stage ignition occurs, and when deployment for each stage occurs - but the defaults will get you started.