HOW TO Add a motor to OpenRocket

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

Handeman

Lifetime Supporter
TRF Lifetime Supporter
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
7,881
Reaction score
441
Location
Stafford, VA
So I added a .eng file to the C:\\...\OpenRocket\ThrustCurves folder. I also tried the Edit-Preferences-Options and Add Users Thrust Curve. It says "Changes will take effect the next time you start OpenRocket." so I close the program and reopen.

No Joy. The motor isn't in the available list when selecting motors.

The first three lines of the .eng file is as follows:
;EX 59% L-1025
;Exported from BurnSim 3.1 (www.burnsim.com)
L1025 75 514.35 0 2.005 1.99581 EX


The problem seems to be that when you go to select a motor, you have to select a Manufacturer. This file has EX as a manufacture code. I thought that might be the issue if you can only add files from existing Manufactures.

I edited the first non-commented line to L1025 75 514 0 2.005 1.99581 AT But that didn't do anything. The motor still doesn't show up.

Can you add a new Manufacturer to the list? How about My Motors with the EX code in the .eng file? How would you do that?

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong and tell me how to add this motor so I can use it in a sim?
 
Last edited:

Handeman

Lifetime Supporter
TRF Lifetime Supporter
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
7,881
Reaction score
441
Location
Stafford, VA
Any suggestions? Or can't it be done?
 

Handeman

Lifetime Supporter
TRF Lifetime Supporter
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
7,881
Reaction score
441
Location
Stafford, VA
I figured it out. .eng files do NOT work in OpenRocket.

I finally got around to trying the .rse file that was created in Burnsim for the EX motor I was going to try. It is identical to the .eng file, just the different format.

I put the .rse file into the C:\\...\OpenRocket\ThrustCurves folder and it shows up in the program. The manufacturer is listed as EX, like in the file, and the motor is in the list and is selectable.
 

beeblebrox

8 C6-0, 12 D11-9, 20 D20-0, 20 E5-0, 3 Cinerocs
Joined
Mar 19, 2016
Messages
792
Reaction score
407
Location
West Chester, PA
Ok, I give up, there is no thrustcurves folder on my computer. the program is a standalone jar file...any ideas anyone?
 

rharshberger

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2014
Messages
10,189
Reaction score
2,136
Location
Pasco, WA
Ok, I give up, there is no thrustcurves folder on my computer. the program is a standalone jar file...any ideas anyone?
Motor files like .rse or .eng files are added using the importer built into OR. IIRC you can create a folder gor the purpose of holding yhe giles then tell OR to look there.
 

lakeroadster

Lonewolf.... No Club
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 3, 2018
Messages
3,220
Reaction score
2,212
Location
Central Colorado
Ok, I give up, there is no thrustcurves folder on my computer. the program is a standalone jar file...any ideas anyone?
Sure there is.. do a search for *curves* (see below).

neil_W helped me with adding a motor early this week. Send him a PM

Open Rocket Thrustcurves.jpg
 
Last edited:

neil_w

Twaddleposter
TRF Supporter
Joined
Jul 14, 2015
Messages
12,701
Reaction score
5,652
Location
Northern NJ
Ok, I give up, there is no thrustcurves folder on my computer. the program is a standalone jar file...any ideas anyone?
If you go to preferences and then "General" tab, you'll see that you can specify a folder for additional motors. Specify that, then dump your thrustcurves in there an you're good to go.
upload_2019-3-17_18-9-45.png
 

Attachments

beeblebrox

8 C6-0, 12 D11-9, 20 D20-0, 20 E5-0, 3 Cinerocs
Joined
Mar 19, 2016
Messages
792
Reaction score
407
Location
West Chester, PA
I finally found it, had an issue thanks to Winblows 10. Even though I am the only user and am the administrator, I could not view or even locate the folder. Once resetting ownership of the root users folder, I was able to get to the needed folder... got it to work...
 

John Kemker

Well-Known Member
TRF Supporter
Joined
Aug 25, 2019
Messages
2,129
Reaction score
1,022
Just added some Loki motors (G70CT) to mine, today. Used a .eng file, not .rse. Worked like a charm!
 

StreuB1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2007
Messages
126
Reaction score
142
Worked! Added the AT L1090W finally!

Thanks!
 
Top