How can I repair Featherweight GPS Tracker after hard landing?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chad

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
After a hard landing i knocked the main GPS module off of my Featherweight Tracker. Any idea how to re-attach it? Is this like a solder paste / hot air gun type deal? I've never done that before. How does the hot air get underneath the module?

Attachments

• IMG-1541.jpg
    IMG-1541.jpg
    194.6 KB · Views: 5
  • IMG-1540.jpg
    IMG-1540.jpg
    184.8 KB · Views: 3
Given the surface mount components on the board, and the inverted installation, I don't think you want to try hot air reflow. I think you'll have to reflow each pad with a soldering iron. That's what I would do were I trying to repair it. But with that much shock, the point may be moot. There could be hidden damage inside the ublox module, and potential random component degradation or failure from being powered while a component was ripped off. So don't be surprised if it doesn't work, and if it works, it might not be reliable.

How about contacting the folks who made it (I believe they are on this forum) and see what they say?

Gerald

Ouch. No suggestions, just commiserating.

I had a similar problem. Emailed Adrian (owner of Featherweight) multiple times. His only response was to ask for pictures.
Finally sent the tracker to him to see if he could fix.
He totally blew me off!
This was 3 months ago.
Tracker issue.jpg

I believe the SAM-M8Q module itself has broken in half. I think your best bet is to remove what's left from the PCB and try to put a new module on (I buy mine from Digikey), but no guarantees.

I've only ever reflowed these parts in an oven, not used hot air.

Another thing that might work is to glue it back together with electrically conductive epoxy. Assuming the module still works at all.