The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Who_Cares

Reaction score
Welcome to my ambitious build!

A little backstory: My name is Caden, I'm 18 years old and this is my first year in HPR. I've recently completed my level 2 certification and ever since I've been anxious to move onto something bigger and better (I know I'm another hot shot young guy).

Below are my goals for this project listed in order of importance from top to bottom (top being the most important). Keep in mind that these goals are ambitious (I want to challenge myself) and they are meant to be. I probably won't achieve all of them, but that's okay because I'm doing this build to learn and have fun.

* = This is my first time doing this
  1. Create a 38mm MD rocket*
  2. Duel Deployment with a drogue and main chute*
  3. Fiberglass the BT*
  4. T2T fiberglass the fins*
  5. Thoroughly document the build and flights*
  6. Designed with the ability to add a booster stage*
I've already created a thread asking what and how much fiberglass I should use. That discussion is here: https://www.rocketryforum.com/threads/how-much-fiberglass-should-i-use.147284/

Hermes will have a GLR plastic nosecone filled with a two part foam and it may be painted with heat resistant paint. There will be a 12" phenolic section and a 36" phenolic section, both section wrapped twice with 6oz fiberglass, with the av-bay, the blue tube av-bay kit sold by Apogee, positioned in the middle of the two sections. Hermes will have g10 custom fins with a clipped delta design. The motor will be friction fit. I have not decided on the parachutes yet.

Below is a picture of Hermes in OpenRocket and I've also linked the OpenRocket file.
Note: The parachutes currently in the rocket are just place holders.

Hermes.PNG