Help Developing New Android Software - Drag Coefficients

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Laura Garland

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to the rocket forum but not so much to rockets as we have been shooting with our three boys for the past 10 years of so. Yes, I have my own rockets including scratch built ones. I don't just watch. My favorite is a G powered scratch built we call Krazy Kitty. It has bling all over it and cat heads.

Anyway, my husband and I are developing a new rocket software package for Android that is near completion. He did a short release a few years ago but decided it wasn't ready and pulled it down. He has had it on Amazon for the past couple of years to get input (much slower than play store). Now we have pulled it down to make last tweaks and intend to release on the Playstore for Android before the end of the year.

I already does a lot but we would like to do one last thing before we release it.

We have a box on the rocket screen that let's you set the drag coefficient. It defaults to .75 as everyone including NASA seems to indicate that is a good place to start. You can change the drag coefficient on each rocket and it changes the graphed apogee altitude.

We already have about 1000 manufacturers rockets to select from or you can add your own. We will default the drag coefficient to .75 but would like to include actual coefficients for any of the models where we can find em.

He is the EE/programmer and I am the AE/graphic artist and this is my job to find as I am the math minor on the team and I handle most of the formulas.

I have looked and can't find much.

NASA says, "Coefficient Cd contains all the complex dependencies and is usually determined experimentally."