Quantcast

Having Computer Problems Again...

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
14,777
Reaction score
1,229
More details later, the backup computer is shutting down randomly too.
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
14,777
Reaction score
1,229
Had a nice long message explaining what happened, and lost it with a random shut down... web pages keep freezing, and I have to reload them, thus losing everything...

I need a new computer.
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
14,777
Reaction score
1,229
Primary computer has stopped connecting to WiFi and Ethernet, it's two national holidays here in China, and the repair shop is closed... I have no idea when they will be back... Monday? A week from Monday? No idea... One holiday can shut down the country for a week these have two back to back... Fortunately week 1 of 2 is over.

Not typing long messages just in case the computer shuts down again or freezes (less retyping involved).... I'll just post and edit... and edit... and edit.

My fridge died last week, as did a light fixture in the living room (too high for me to reach)... Landlord comes out, verifies that the fridge is not working (it was 25 degrees inside it (that's Celsius), so somewhere in the high 70s degrees F). The light bulb gets replaced, but the replacement doesn't work... its ballast is toast.

So, Friday, he shows up with a new (2nd hand) fridge (smells like onions), and a LED light system to replace the old florescent lights. I was home, and watching Youtube videos when he showed up. He shuts down power to the apartment to work on the electricity, and of course I didn't have a chance to shut down the computer. The circuit breaker wont reset, so that takes some time, and the computer shuts off. I restart it, but can't access the internet... He has a internet service man come out to inspect the system... His phone, my phone, and his computer connects to the internet fine... My computer doesn't.

I rush off to the computer repair center where the machine was fixed last year, no good... It's TWO national holidays and they're gone for the weekend (if not for the week... I have no idea). The dealer tries a few things, but that doesn't work... He passes me off to another guy who runs an internet gaming center in the building. He connects it to Ethernet, and it does access the web. He downloads some Chinese diagnostic software (which comes with a Chinese program like IE/Safari/Chrome) and tells me it's a driver issue. He can't fix it, but he does have an Ethernet cable for 5 RMB (less than a dollar US).

I go home, and find the landlord has replaced the router... Connect up the computer to the Ethernet, and am able to use it for a while (but not before I could relay this to you guys). Computer gets sluggish after I ran the backup, so I decided to restart. Now it won't connect to the internet at all. I drag out my backup machine, but my VPN is expired... and the new router is set to OPEN, so my VPN service provider won't let me download the updated software for fear of someone hacking my passwords and CC info. Skype needed an update, downloaded that... then the computer shut down suddenly after I had a message (of similar length to what you are reading in this post) typed up, and trying to post.

As it stands now... Unreliable backup computer hasn't rebooted for over an hour (but did twice while skype was downloading and installing). Can't access my VPN. So, no Google, YouTube, or Facebook (at least until I can get access to a non-open networked WiFi connection). Surprise!!! No YORF either...

I have a tonne of .ork files I'm working on, as well as messages to people asking for info on old kits (looks like I'm getting answers too (email notifications)), and no way to respond to them.

I have a large stream of 4 letter words running through my head at the moment. The loudest one goes something like "I'm FOWLED", but fowl isn't the word.
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
14,777
Reaction score
1,229
Reformat. Problem solved.
Found another shop, and they not only reformatted me... The took me down to Windows 7. Oh... Joy... :eyeroll:

In possible good news (somewhat), my old machine now is connecting to my VPN, so I was able to update that and get the license on this machine updated.

Old machine seems to be running stably now.
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
14,777
Reaction score
1,229
Spoke too soon... Looks like the old computer is overheating... I'm now on the primary computer again, currently downloading Chrome... Last I looked it said it'd take about 14 hours to download.
 

markkoelsch

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
4,364
Reaction score
148
For what purpose do you need a vpn? I understand what it is, and what they do ( I work in IT), but most people do not use them for day to day?

I would say that you really need to invest in an external hard drive or some
Cloud storage to back up your data to at a minimum.




Sent from my iPhone using Rocketry Forum
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
14,777
Reaction score
1,229
For what purpose do you need a vpn? I understand what it is, and what they do ( I work in IT), but most people do not use them for day to day?

I would say that you really need to invest in an external hard drive or some
Cloud storage to back up your data to at a minimum.

I live and work in Mainland China... If you want to use Google, YouTube, Facebook, Flickr, or even YORF, you need to spoof the network into believing that you are somewhere else.

I have an external HD (1TB capacity), and I have backed up. Problem was the drivers associated with accessing the internet got scrambled when the power failed apparently, and I had no internet access until the shop formatted and installed Windows7.

I'm now downloading Chrome, and have Windows10 waiting in the wings to download.

Oh, and Chrome lied... It's now down to 17 minutes to finish.
 

Marc_G

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2010
Messages
6,635
Reaction score
714
Location
Indianapolis Metro Area
If you have Windows 7 up and running why would you want to mess with Windows 10 and its forced updates? I would think for you the stability of Windows 7 would be far preferable for the remaining tenure there in the ROC.

How much longer are you staying?
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
14,777
Reaction score
1,229
If you have Windows 7 up and running why would you want to mess with Windows 10 and its forced updates? I would think for you the stability of Windows 7 would be far preferable for the remaining tenure there in the ROC.

How much longer are you staying?
Why Windows 10? Because it's what the computer came with originally.

As to duration of stay in the PRC... While I could honestly say I've got 2 years teaching experience under my belt in January, it'd be better if I hung around till the end of the school year... Better still If I was able to complete two full years teaching at the same school (or for the same company)(looks better on a resume that way). I started at my current job last October. I'm still planning on going to TW eventually. Honestly, If I were to come back to the US, I'd need to go for my MA TESOL to get a decent job. My BA degree didn't include any classes needed for teaching children, nor a teaching license oriented for kids (read as "not hireable in public schools")... W/o that I'm teaching adults, and to make money there means being hireable for something other than a nonprofit (thus the MA TESOL). With a Masters in TESOL, I'd be hireable at the US college/university level or just about anywere in the world at a university level (including English as first language nations).
 

blackbrandt

That Darn College Student
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
9,281
Reaction score
41
I mean you could always try booting linux....
 

Marc_G

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2010
Messages
6,635
Reaction score
714
Location
Indianapolis Metro Area
Got it!

Now I understand. At least win 10 will probably have updated drivers for the machine. It's ironic that you have had so much computer trouble where those computers were probably made.

Here's hoping for a smooth patch in your connectivity journey. I appreciate your posts so much I don't want anything to get in the way... [emoji3]
 

markkoelsch

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
4,364
Reaction score
148
I live and work in Mainland China... If you want to use Google, YouTube, Facebook, Flickr, or even YORF, you need to spoof the network into believing that you are somewhere else.

I have an external HD (1TB capacity), and I have backed up. Problem was the drivers associated with accessing the internet got scrambled when the power failed apparently, and I had no internet access until the shop formatted and installed Windows7.

I'm now downloading Chrome, and have Windows10 waiting in the wings to download.

Oh, and Chrome lied... It's now down to 17 minutes to finish.
Ah, the joys of communism and the great Chinese firewall. I am surprised they have not blocked that.

It seems a lot of issue with not a lot of gain. Why be there versus coming back to the states?


Sent from my iPhone using Rocketry Forum
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
14,777
Reaction score
1,229
Do yourself a favour and stick with Windows 7, or 8.1.
Just enough of this installation of Windows 7 is in not in English to make downloading Windows 10 a Genuine desire.

reply.jpg
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
14,777
Reaction score
1,229
A lot of what I am seeing looks like this:

reply II.png
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
14,777
Reaction score
1,229
I've been downloading Windows since last night... I woke up at 5:50 am this morning to see it was at 94%... By 6 am it was at 100%... What I got was a welcome page in Chinese...

King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!!
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
14,777
Reaction score
1,229
Ok...

Primary computer (the ASUS (ca. 2015) can see WiFi networks and Ethernet networks, but no access to the Internet. It's been formatted twice, and no go.
Secondary computer (Gateway (ca. 2010) can access the internet, however two of the 3 USB ports are dead, the keyboard is shot, and it cannot access my account on the HD (I can log in as a temporary user, but no access to files and it won't save anything I create on it).

That leads us to...

3rd computer (Lenovo ThinkPad (Oct. 5, 2017)... Wouldn't allow English initially, the vendor downloaded an English language pack, and was able to get it to convert to English. The Welcome and Shutdown screens are still in Chinese, but the the rest is in English. It is now being brought up to speed.
 

CORZERO

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2015
Messages
714
Reaction score
6
You are NOT a Computer Science teacher/professor, correct?
 

LithosphereRocketry

Pining for the Fjords
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
791
Reaction score
15
I've been downloading Windows since last night... I woke up at 5:50 am this morning to see it was at 94%... By 6 am it was at 100%... What I got was a welcome page in Chinese...

King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!! King's Speach!!!
This is how I feel about Linux... Everyone should speak Linux. And Firefox. And OpenRocket. And Arduino. And Processing. And possibly Gnu-Emacs. And any other free/open source thing you can think of...
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
14,777
Reaction score
1,229
I can't believe it... the NEWEST computer has the same issue as the previous newest computer... No internet access... not on WiFi, nor connected via Ethernet. My old machine seems to be working now (as far as the keyboard goes), but the USB ports are still out of order, and it will not access the personal files on the HD. I've got an external fan attached to it to keep it from overheating.

Payday is a week away, and I'll have to make do with this arrangement until then as I barely have enough to buy food for the next week. :sad:
 

tightwad

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2011
Messages
1,087
Reaction score
27
At times I think computers like to play with us. You know, just little things that gets you steamed! Like keyboard keys that stop working, or changing web pages for no reason just as you get interested in the page. Number one recommendations from the computer tech's...is a sledge hammer! It does wonders for your mental well being along with a little aerobic work out, but not your pocket book. Just tell your computer that you are sorry, then, kiss it and hold it. The next morning everything will be all right...maybe. Because they are just like women....THEY NEVER FORGET!!!!!!!!!
 

Sooner Boomer

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
3,141
Reaction score
731
Any way you could get someone to download and burn you a copy of a Live Linux CD (in English, obviously)? Booting from this will allow you to see if it's a windows/driver problem, or one in hardware. Using a Live CD means the program runs just in memory, and is not installed on the hard drive. Nowdays, Linux installs "just work".
 

K'Tesh

OpenRocket Chuck Norris
TRF Supporter
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
14,777
Reaction score
1,229
OK... Time to Update this again. The problem is software, and it appears that it's my VPN that was the trouble. I found a troubleshooting guide for the problem, and worked it until I found that the computers were trying for static IP addresses, and not dynamic IP addresses. Once I got that straightened out, I could access the web. However, the moment I tried to use my VPN (WiTopia) it shut down again. I uninstalled that, and reinstalled a fresh copy, and now both of my newer computers are able to access the web.

Bad news, I bought a new computer over a month ago to get back online. Good news... I needed a new computer anyway as my original backup was (and is) screwing up bad (still can't access the files on the HD (I'm forced into a temporary profile)).
 
Top