Going from 8” diameter to 12” - RockSim?

Discussion in 'High Power Rocketry (HPR)' started by Rail Dawg, Nov 24, 2018.

Help Support The Rocketry Forum by donating:

  1. Nov 24, 2018 #1

    Rail Dawg

    Rail Dawg

    Rail Dawg

    Always learning!!! TRF Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2018
    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    706
    Location:
    Houston TX and Lovelock NV
    I’m going to build 2 rockets. One is an 8” kit and the other will be a scratch-built 12” with the same design as the 8” one.

    I’m not well-versed with RockSim but do plan on using it.

    That being said what do you think would be the rough size increase in the fin size going from a rocket that is 8” diameter 12-feet long to one 12” in diameter 20-feet long?

    Is using RockSim for such a change pretty straight forward?

    Thanks.

    Chuck
     
  2. Nov 24, 2018 #2

    tfish

    tfish

    tfish

    Forum Supporter TRF Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,416
    Likes Received:
    371
    roughly each measurement of the 8" fin will be 1.5 times bigger/longer ?

    Tony
     
    Rail Dawg likes this.
  3. Nov 24, 2018 #3

    Rail Dawg

    Rail Dawg

    Rail Dawg

    Always learning!!! TRF Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2018
    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    706
    Location:
    Houston TX and Lovelock NV
    That’s what I’m thinking Tony.

    But was wondering if there’s more to it than that?

    Of course RockSim can help but there’s a steep learning curve with that software. At least I think there is...

    I’ve always built my rockets without using RockSim. Just want to make sure I’m not making a fatal error if I build this one without it lol.

    Going to fly the 12” with a “P” motor. I guess I need to get into RockSim?

    Any inputs appreciated.

    Chuck
     
  4. Nov 24, 2018 #4

    rharshberger

    rharshberger

    rharshberger

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    8,610
    Likes Received:
    953
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pasco, WA
    Does RocSim not have a scaling feature like OpenRocket? I don't use RocSim unless forced to do so but iirc it has the ability to scale the whole or just a part of a rocket.
     
    Rail Dawg likes this.
  5. Nov 24, 2018 #5

    Titan II

    Titan II

    Titan II

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    55
    "Rocket" drop down to "scale"
     

Share This Page