Fore and Aft Motor mounts?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wwattles

Reaction score
I'm still a newbie when it comes to building rockets, but from what I do know, we try to keep the CG's forward and the CP's aft, right? So what happens if we put a pair of smaller engines forward, angled outwards (like a Deuce's Wild) with a single larger engine aft (Traditional style)? The amount of drag from a forward-mounted angled motor wouldn't push the CP that much farther forward, and the forward motor weight would certainly help counter that.

Is there anything out there that says this idea WOULDN'T work? The recovery system would be center mounted, with the forward engines having no ejection charges.

WW

I'm a bit under the weather at the moment, and codeine has induced a fog state - so if this is totally out of character for me - I'll apologize in advance.

In deference to forward mounted engines, your largest concern would be twofold:

First, the position of the CG as the motors loose their propellant weight would be critical. Thus, building a model with this type of forward type of motors would need threefold testing:

1) Swing test with no motor casings.

2) Swing test with empty motor casings.

3) Swing test with full motor casings.

This will help you see how stable/unstable the design is in each phase of flight.

Sure, it may be a small matter that the rocket is marginally stable once the forward engines burn out - and in further thinking this line of thought, I'd bet that IF you can keep the rocket stable through burn, and it becomes marginally stable near apogee/motor burnout - you should be safe.