Firefox vs attachments

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

DJ Delorie

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2004
Messages
221
Reaction score
1
When one tries to view an attached image (not an inline one), Firefox asks you if you want to use an external viewer or save the image, but refuses to just show the image. The culprit is the line "Content-disposition: atachment; filename=...". If the line is removed, the image can be viewed in the browser, but you lose the file name. Can we do anything about this?
 

rstaff3

Oddroc-eteer
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
11,763
Reaction score
22
I just started using Firefox and this is the main issue I have seen. But I run into it often here on TRF!
 

wwattles

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
2,870
Reaction score
0
I've found a work-around for this problem!!!

Get yourself the Launchy add-in and use that to open the pics in your other browser (I used IE, since I know that'll open the external image links).

Not the ideal solution, but it works pretty well.

WW
 

rstaff3

Oddroc-eteer
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
11,763
Reaction score
22
How long have you used this? Is this a safe thing to download?
 

wwattles

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
2,870
Reaction score
0
I just downloaded it this afternoon and have tried it out in a variety of environments, and it's been bug-free. As for the adware/spyware aspect of it, it's behaved itself and hasn't set off any of my spyware alarms.

WW
 

rstaff3

Oddroc-eteer
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
11,763
Reaction score
22
Thanks. Its loaded as an extension in Firefox, but how do you make it work? If I right click on a link, I can open the file, but it still opens another instance of Firfox and then the target app. Same as without it (????)
 

lalligood

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,985
Reaction score
0
And what makes this issue really annoying for me is that it did NOT happen in earlier releases (V .9x, but became a problem starting in PR 1).
:mad: :kill:

Firefox is awesome otherwise. The tabbed browsing extension is a *MUST* :D
 

wwattles

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
2,870
Reaction score
0
Originally posted by rstaff3
Thanks. Its loaded as an extension in Firefox, but how do you make it work? If I right click on a link, I can open the file, but it still opens another instance of Firfox and then the target app. Same as without it (????)
You may have to restart your Firefox in order to finish the install. Once you've done that, you right click the link, then scroll to "Launchy", submenu over to "Open link in Internet Explorer" and off you go. No new tabs, just an IE browser that opens and displays the image.

WW
 

rstaff3

Oddroc-eteer
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
11,763
Reaction score
22
I was hoping it would do more. The ieview extension adds a similar entry directly into the right click menu.
 

KermieD

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2009
Messages
3,019
Reaction score
5
I tried Firefox and this is part of why I quit. If you want it to do anything at all beyond the most rudimentary browsing, you have to download extensions from people you (ok, *I*) don't know anything about. Firefox is only secure without the extensions from rinky-dink companies and the functionality that come with them and as long as it's not a widespread target. Once it becomes as functional as IE and half as widespread, it's going to be twice as much of a security risk as IE ever was.
 

rstaff3

Oddroc-eteer
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
11,763
Reaction score
22
The only complaint I have is opening pics in TRF. For the occasional site that needs IE, I can open it easily. The extensions have been a concern of mine.
 

DJ Delorie

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2004
Messages
221
Reaction score
1
use that to open the pics in your other browser
I run Linux, so I don't have another browser. Well, ok, I've got a zillion downloadable browsers, but there's no other "default" browser (and certainly no IE) on my system.
 

cydermaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
2,617
Reaction score
0
Yep - Images that appear in new browser windows ARE a pita with Firefox. I *have* found that clicking the image link with the middle button opens it in another tab instead of a new window, which helps prevent clutter; but I still have to do the dialog box bit. :(

I wouldn't be without Firefox, though. The pop-up blocking etc features are well worth it, and tabbed browsing is THE only way to surf the net without filling your task bar.

PLUS Its not M$ :D :D :D :D
 

lalligood

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,985
Reaction score
0
I felt that this thread was worthy of a bump...

Anyone found a solution and/or have any updates as to displaying images that want to open in another window in Firefox?

Thanks.
 

Silverleaf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2003
Messages
1,127
Reaction score
0
The tabbed browsing extension is a *MUST*

Whilst I like Firefox's blocking ability of Pop-ups and the like, I must respectfully inform Firefox's maker they need to improve the Tabbed system that originally came to be in Netcaptor Gold, and that has been copied poorly by some browsers. FF has a nice tabbed system...BUT...

Netcaptor's tabs appear at the bottom of the window, and the one thing that irks me about FF's tabs is IF I want/need to open a new tab, or click a link, it always throws the new tab to the very end of my tabs - i.e all the way to the right.

OR if I don't "open in new tab", and just click an image attached here at TRF, or a link, it automatccally opens a common browser window. Not the best way for it to work - IMHO. 8)

Using my Yahoo bulk folder as the example, I simply right click and open in new window, and a new tab appears right beside the already opened highlighted tab in Netcaptor. Saves time and energy.

As well, the other feature it needs for its browsing system is the ability to simply grab a tab - say at the far right, and move it to wherever you want. Netcaptor excels with tabbed browsing, while its a little more work to enjoy FF.

Lastly, Netcaptor allows me to save all my opened tabs as a "captorgroup" with a specific name. Upon startup, it automatically remembers the last set of tabs I had open, and reloads them. FF forces me ( at least I haven't found a better way to do this part yet ) to save all the open tabs as a bookmark, then scroll to that bookmark folder, then OPEN all tabs. Excruciatingly slow doing it that way.

Otherwise, FF is a solid browser with a nice clean look. I've installed 1 extensions - for MSN group chat - like the chat feature here with no problems.

Cheers,
 

brianc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
3,242
Reaction score
4
Originally posted by lalligood
Anyone found a solution and/or have any updates as to displaying images that
want to open in another window in Firefox?
OK, according to this- https://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=2565&highlight=images+open
it's a bug in the VBulletin software.

Here's a packet capture I did and sure, enough- the content disposition is 'atachment' (note
the mispelling).
Code:
0x0030   0056 d3bb 4854 5450 2f31 2e31 2032 3030        .V..HTTP/1.1.200
0x0040   204f 4b0d 0a44 6174 653a 2054 6875 2c20        .OK..Date:.Thu,.
0x0050   3237 204a 616e 2032 3030 3520 3032 3a35        27.Jan.2005.02:5
0x0060   303a 3537 2047 4d54 0d0a 5365 7276 6572        0:57.GMT..Server
0x0070   3a20 4170 6163 6865 2f32 2e30 2e34 3920        :.Apache/2.0.49.
0x0080   284c 696e 7578 2f53 7553 4529 0d0a 582d        (Linux/SuSE)..X-
0x0090   506f 7765 7265 642d 4279 3a20 5048 502f        Powered-By:.PHP/
0x00a0   342e 332e 340d 0a43 6163 6865 2d63 6f6e        4.3.4..Cache-con
0x00b0   7472 6f6c 3a20 6d61 782d 6167 653d 3331        trol:.max-age=31
0x00c0   3533 3630 3030 0d0a 4578 7069 7265 733a        536000..Expires:
0x00d0   2046 7269 2c20 3237 204a 616e 2032 3030        .Fri,.27.Jan.200
0x00e0   3620 3032 3a35 303a 3537 474d 540d 0a4c        6.02:50:57GMT..L
0x00f0   6173 742d 4d6f 6469 6669 6564 3a20 5475        ast-Modified:.Tu
0x0100   652c 2030 3720 4465 6320 3230 3034 2030        e,.07.Dec.2004.0
0x0110   373a 3535 3a35 3847 4d54 0d0a 436f 6e74        7:55:58GMT..Cont
0x0120   656e 742d 6469 7370 6f73 6974 696f 6e3a        ent-disposition:
0x0130   2061 7461 6368 6d65 6e74 3b20 6669 6c65        .atachment;.file
0x0140   6e61 6d65 3d73 6964 6520 6279 2073 6964        name=side.by.sid
0x0150   6520 7461 7572 7573 2063 6f6d 7061 7269        e.taurus.compari
0x0160   736f 6e2e 6a70 670d 0a43 6f6e 7465 6e74        son.jpg..Content
0x0170   2d4c 656e 6774 683a 2032 3237 3330 0d0a        -Length:.22730..
0x0180   436f 6e74 656e 742d 5479 7065 3a20 696d        Content-Type:.im
0x0190   6167 652f 6a70 6567 0d0a 0d0a ffd8 ffe0        age/jpeg........
This was also submitted to the mozilla bugzilla
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=183653
waaaay back in 2002. Buried in there is a note that says
"vBulletin 2.3.0 Final is out and contains a fix for it."

HMMM. The bottom of the main TRF page says we're still at v.2.2.9...

HEY Carl & Co. -- when's the next upgrade scheduled? ;)
 

brianc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
3,242
Reaction score
4
Originally posted by DJ Delorie
I run Linux, so I don't have another browser. Well, ok, I've got a zillion downloadable browsers, but there's no other "default" browser (and certainly no IE) on my system.
BTW any other Linux & *nix propeller heads-

w3m is a great text browser and handles the attachments nicely!

https://w3m.sourceforge.net/index.en.html
 

lalligood

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,985
Reaction score
0
Originally posted by brianc
Buried in there is a note that says
"vBulletin 2.3.0 Final is out and contains a fix for it."

HMMM. The bottom of the main TRF page says we're still at v.2.2.9...

HEY Carl & Co. -- when's the next upgrade scheduled? ;)
Excellent sleuthwork there Professor Brian! That would explain why the problem only occurs here on TRF... :(

And Milo would be THE person to direct this request to...
 

brianc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
3,242
Reaction score
4
Originally posted by lalligood
And Milo would be THE person to direct this request to...
Except the TRF server is now in Cincinatti with Carl. Milo is in North Carolina.
Possession is nine-tenths of the law. ;)

BTW- Milo/Carl/whoever- This looks like it might be a simple 1-liner fix
in attachment.php A full upgrade to 2.3 might not be necessary.

See -- https://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?threadid=65712
 

Crusty

Active Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2006
Messages
25
Reaction score
0
BUMP
,.....Another firefox user here, any news on the possibility of a forum fix?
it sorta reminds me of the frustration of dial-up, every time I go to view a attached image
 

lalligood

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,985
Reaction score
0
Originally posted by Crusty
BUMP
,.....Another firefox user here, any news on the possibility of a forum fix?
it sorta reminds me of the frustration of dial-up, every time I go to view a attached image
Don't hold your breath... 2.2.9 was considered old a loooong time ago. If they haven't done it by now, they probably aren't going to be forking out the cash for a more recent version.

However, you might want to read what I posted in this thread: https://www.rocketryforum.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=22074&highlight=firefox
There is a reasonable workaround with installing a Firefox extension that gets it to work like it should.

HTH,
 

BlueNinja

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
2,701
Reaction score
1
I thought, ages ago, there was a thread that said they were upgrading?

:confused:
 

cjl

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
12,549
Reaction score
14
I think they upgraded the server itself, not the software.
 

Nerull

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
673
Reaction score
0
As posted above, this is a one liner fix - anyone could do it without needing to upgrade.

I really wish they would fix this.
 
Top