Quantcast

Feet of clay, launch lugs away!

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

shrox

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
3,716
Reaction score
2
I am a professional rocket designer, some would say the greatest ever. Why then do I ALWAYS forget the launch lug? Sometimes I am ready to load it on the rod, and guess what? No launch lug! Everytime, I forget until I am putting on decals or something. Geez!
 

DJ Delorie

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2004
Messages
221
Reaction score
1
Funny you should mention that. On my latest rocket, the launch lug went on just after the primer. Scrape, glue, fill, prime again...
 

lalligood

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,975
Reaction score
0
Why not use rail buttons?

They are always the finishing touch to any MPR/HPR build of mine :D
 

DJ Delorie

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2004
Messages
221
Reaction score
1
Actually, I'm considering rail buttons for my next model, which is big enough to warrant them (8'9") but the model I goofed on was a Freedom Forge Missile, only 18" long.

We'd probably just forget the rail buttons, though ;-)
 

shrox

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
3,716
Reaction score
2
Originally posted by lalligood
Why not use rail buttons?

They are always the finishing touch to any MPR/HPR build of mine :D
Still gotta remember to put them on!!
 

teflonrocketry1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2011
Messages
1,625
Reaction score
1
Shrox,

Use pop lugs (or fall away lugs) as Tim Van Milligan mentions in his design book. Why ruin a great design and paint job for a launch lug?

Bruce S. Levison, NAR #69055
 

BlueNinja

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
2,690
Reaction score
1
Originally posted by lalligood
Why not use rail buttons?

They are always the finishing touch to any MPR/HPR build of mine :D
Still gotta remember to put them on!!
I agree with Lance, any rocket over 4 feet tall gets them or any that uses a midpower motor.

All ya have to do is screw them on with a lil CA, easier than a launch lug and cheap as heck IMHO
 

radiO

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2004
Messages
198
Reaction score
0
i know, i know, but i must ask: what are rail buttons? do they work with a regular rod setup? do you need a special launch pad?
 

shrox

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
3,716
Reaction score
2
Originally posted by Blue_Ninja_150
I agree with Lance, any rocket over 4 feet tall gets them or any that uses a midpower motor.

All ya have to do is screw them on with a lil CA, easier than a launch lug and cheap as heck IMHO
Sure, if you have a rail launcher. The most used launcher by far is the standard guide rod launcher. It is what I have...the Mantis.
 

stevem

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2009
Messages
1,608
Reaction score
0
check it out - www.railbuttons.com

All the info you need to get set up for rail.

I use my rail launcher and rail buttons on all my rockets from the smallest Estes kits to my biggest scrathbuilts.

Rail buttons are so easy to use, rail launcher is very rigid (unlike rods) and it looks cool too!!
 

loopy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2009
Messages
4,570
Reaction score
1
Originally posted by shrox
I am a professional rocket designer, some would say the greatest ever. Why then do I ALWAYS forget the launch lug? Sometimes I am ready to load it on the rod, and guess what? No launch lug! Everytime, I forget until I am putting on decals or something. Geez!
I usually remember the lug, but often get to the pad. load the rocket on the rod, then try to attach the leads to the igniter that's still sitting on my prep table 100 feet away...

Loopy
 

edwardw

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2004
Messages
2,116
Reaction score
0
Sometimes if I want to add rail buttons after the fact or when I'm building I'll use a well nut to install it. A well nut is a rubber expansion plug with a steel nut in it. When you screw it down tight the rubber expands and keeps it in place. They are easy to install and you can take them out easily if need be.

Edward
 

Latest posts

Top