Estes - Sky Writer (#1260) Gallery

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

88tc

Reaction score
I'm new to rockets. The kids and I have made less than 10 launches. I have learned a lot from this forum. Plenty of great info here. I put this rocket together, but haven't launched it yet. I shortened a sky writer and painted it black. It's 16 1/2" long. I plan on using a streamer. I don't know a lot about engines. I don't want to put the most powerful engine into it, because I'll probably never see it again. I hope it will fly ok, since it's so much shorter than the original design.

100_2165.jpg

Post copied to gallery with permission

Last edited by a moderator:
This isn't mine, it belongs to a young man who is a member of our new rocket club. This was my first time to see one in real life, and it is a great little flyer! The boy and his dad had so much fun flying it, they few it about 4 times today...

DSC_2933MR.jpg

This is my daughter's new rocket, we are looking to launch this weekend !

attachment.php

I decided to decorate my Sky Writer in a faux-scale motif similar to my Athena.
attachment.php

Welcome to the Estes Sky Writer (#1260) Gallery on TRF.

This gallery showcases the Estes Sky Writer (#1260) and those rockets derived from it. Particularly appropriate in this thread are the following:

Estes: No. 2 Estes Sky Writer: #1235
Estes: (No. 2 (Estes)) Sky Writer: #1260
MMWW: Pencil Odd-Roc: #294

as well as any upscales, downscales, clones, kitbashes or other derivative works. Even Goonies qualify!

Last edited:
Estes Sky Writer (#1260) Basic Information.

estes.gif
Estes Industries

MODEL NAME: Sky Writer Also known as: No. 2 Sky Writer, No. 2 Estes Sky Writer

NUMBER: #1260

Introduced: 2002
Final Year:
Designer:

Type: Oddroc
Motor Mount: 1x18mm
Recovery: Parachute
Stages: 1
Length: 26 in. (66 cm)
Diameter: 0.98 in. (25 mm)
Span: