Estes Nike Smoke DD?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kruegon

Reaction score
I just received my Nike Smoke. I've been putting my PSII kits up on some pretty big motors. DD has been a God send for this.

Any suggestions on the best way to make this one DD without changing the actual rocket itself? I've been considering a NC bay, but I've never built one before. It'd be completely new territory. And I'd rather avoid a Chute Release just yet.

I've been considering a NC bay, but I've never built one before.

No need to "reinvent the wheel." Mike at MAC Performance sells sweet NC bays. I first purchased one for use as a tracking bay for his 3" Scorpion rocket. I have been utilizing them most recently for multiple LOC 4" builds and a Defy Gravity tether. Similar concept I'm sure would work at 3".

Or, cut the tube, buy a coupler, get some bulkheads from Balsa Machining, make an AV bay. But remember, Chute Release requires no BP and is easily moved from rocket to rocket, and no modifications or DD altimeter are required.

For my Madcow 4" Nike Smoke I'm in the middle of building I'm planning on using a Chute Release for DD, I'll probably still use an altimeter for electronic eject (been screwed too many times from early or late motor eject at least with AT motors) and my plan is a nosecone AV bay for that (have one on order from ape-rc.com as soon as I manage to sync-up with Chris to pick it up [my fault, not his]), I have a TRS that I plan to use both for tracking and deployment.

Or, cut the tube, buy a coupler, get some bulkheads from Balsa Machining, make an AV bay. But remember, Chute Release requires no BP and is easily moved from rocket to rocket, and no modifications or DD altimeter are required.

+1ImageUploadedByRocketry Forum1456504623.364816.jpg