Estes Leviathan "Stretch" Build Thread

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dmgrime

Reaction score
Hi all! This is my first build thread, so please go easy :) I'm building an Estes Leviathan, but making a few modifications:

1) Adding 34" of T300 airframe from BMS

2) Replace stock motor mount with 34" T52HMF foil lined motor/stuffer tube to ensure standard motor deploy charges can pressurize the extended airframe properly.

3) Anti-Zipper Design breaking at ~44"

4) Possibly adding nose cone AV bay for EggFinder (TBD)

Here goes .... (been taking this slow, so this is likely to be built out over the next 2-3 weeks)

Dave

Here's the MMT/stuffer tube already glued in to the stock Leviathan fin can tube. I also have added a top centering ring which will, of course center the stuffer, but also seal off most of the airframe so only the top ~10" needs to pressurize (I'll be putting a baffle in the anti-zipper coupler). This is an all wood glue assembly, except for the JB weld I'll use on the motor retainer (Estes stock), and also for this coupler as I didn't want to risk the next step binding ...

attachment.php

And I also included a backer block made from 3/4" maple plywood to support the rail button. The aft CR will have the same, but I'm leaving that off for now to be able to do internal fillets.

attachment.php

Last edited:
And here's the assembled lower airframe. To put the two pieces together, I put a ring of wood glue 11" down from the top, then inserted the MMT about 12" in from the bottom of the 34" airframe section. Then, I put another ring in the aft end (working around the MMT) about 4" up. I slathered the exposed coupler with RocketPoxy and hoped for the best. Thankfully it didn't bind and I got a nice bead of glue that will seal the top of the MMT assembly ...

attachment.php

attachment.php

Last edited: