Estes Expedition

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gldknght

Reaction score
Greeting everyone. I picked up one of these at Hobby Lobby. Has anyone done a build thread? I'm concerned about the paper tail cone. This will be the most likely impact point at landing, and it seems flimsy.

If there is interest, I will do a build thread since I'm just getting started?

I built one. It is a bit flimsy. I haven’t flown mine yet though so I can’t comment on how it takes landing. The motor hook does protrude quite a bit so it should take most of the landing.

I'm building one now & have to agree that the paper cones are flimsy. I have a question that one of you might be able to answer. There is an orange spacer, part W that is nowhere mentioned in the assembly instructions. What the hell is it for? To confuse people? ;)

It is a 24mm motor kit yes?

Estes E's are longer than Ds, the orange spacer goes in front of a D so they can fly without shooting up into the mount tube

Hey guys brand new member and first time builder here. I am a little ill equipped in the glue dept. I have modeling cement, CA glue and a glue stick. Unfortunately for all the cards stock im using a file stick lol. The very first step is to cut out and curl the engine shroud and glue it together. Mine is to small and the two guide rings that are supposed to get glued at the inner edges don't fit inside. Should I sand down the cardstock guide rings or put a bigger piece of ther flimsier index stock on the inside of the shroud to extend its size?

It's flimsy for sure, but the three struts glued to it give it strength. Do the rings not fit like this?

1590389060423.png