Estes Custom PSII from a Scion Kit - Build Thread

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bclark989

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
Hi all,

This is my first build thread (and first thread on TRF period, actually), so go easy on me =p. A small rocket bio, since I'm new:

I'm Brian, and I joined Oregon Rocketry in January. I have been building low power models since I was probably 10 and finally found mid and high power rocketry at the age of 29 and joined OROC. I built my first high power kit over the winter, a LOC Precision Hi-Tech, which flew beautifully on a CTI I55 Mellow Yellow in May for my first L1 attempt. Despite watching it touch down gracefully, it was never recovered from the eastern Oregon sage brush. My next L1 attempt will be with an Estes Partizon in late August or September. The rocket is ready, just waiting for the day. I also have my L2 project on the workbench now, a LOC Precision Hyperloc 835.

On to the task at hand...

I recently purchased one of the Estes Scion kits. I feel like there are enough stock PSII builds out there, and at OROC's most recent meeting, a few of us discussed how great these kits are just for parts at the prices they have been at recently. I have been thinking for a while it would be fun to scratch build something, or at least modify a kit, so here it is.

nH95Hq1.jpg

I am going to leave it as a 3-fin (Scion) but turn them back around (Leviathan) and add a small second fin aft of each primary fin. The secondary fins will be cut from the fourth fin that came with the set (the Scion is just Leviathan parts, and as such comes with 4 fins even though the Scion only calls for 3). At this point, I am not planning on getting a fourth centering ring (to cap the secondary fin tabs). I don't think it will ever endure enough stress for it to matter. Only planning to put F's and G's in this bird.