Eggtimer Mini Repair

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joharvey1

Reaction score
Hi all,

I have a faulty GPS Eggfinder mini tracker, and need someone who is good with those chips to advise and/or possibly repair the chip for me. I am not that handy with electronics, and I have no soldering experience.

I think the issue with the tracker has something to do with extra solder on a connection or a faulty component along the same lines, if that helps.

What happens is that the working tracker pairs on frequency 915 for a few seconds, then loses connection shortly thereafter. The chip appears to be instantly draining lipos, no matter how many times I replace them. Tests were run on the handheld, and I believe it was determined to be operational.

I'd be willing to reimburse someone for their trouble in the repair. Or, if the chip is beyond repair, to have them possibly build me a new tracker of the same or similar type that can be used without a smart phone, and with my current working LCD handheld receiver.

Thanks!

Last edited:
I would suggest reaching out to Cris again. I has helped me out when needed. He is also active on this forum.

I may have to do that. I didn't buy the chip directly from him, I bought it here preassembled as a whole set with the handheld. I can ask him again. If I remember right, it was he who originally suggested the extra solder as a potential problem.

Hi all,

I have a faulty GPS Eggfinder mini tracker, and need someone who is good with those chips to advise and/or possibly repair the chip for me. I am not that handy with electronics, and I have no soldering experience.

I think the issue with the tracker has something to do with extra solder on a connection or a faulty component along the same lines, if that helps.