Do I invest in RMS right from the get go?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kframe

Reaction score
I'm just getting into high power and am trying to decide whether I make the jump to RMS right away, or fly on DMS for some time before getting into reloadable motors.
There are a few things I'm considering, and others I may not be aware of but should factor into the decision.
*Right now I have 29mm and 38mm MMT rockets, at some point 54mm is likely.
*I plan on earning L1 this summer, and possibly L2 this year as well.
*As far as I know there are no brick & mortar places in the MN Twin Cities area that I can buy motors so I would have to have things shipped and DMS = Hazmat fees.
*I will have to drive over an hour to launch HPR so realistically I would probably be going to 3-5 launches each year at most, and while there would want to launch each rocket more than once, to make the drive worth it.

Any opinions or advice on this is welcome, thank you!
-Kris

You are wrong about buying motors in MN. Off We Go Rocketry is in business, you can call and make appointment to go to Gary's and buy direct from him. He is great to deal with. He is also our vendor at the launches. there are 2 clubs in MN, north and south. Both are great. I fly at the North Branch field. Have you been to one of our launches? Dave.

https://www.offwegorocketry.com/

I'm just getting into high power and am trying to decide whether I make the jump to RMS right away, or fly on DMS for some time before getting into reloadable motors.
There are a few things I'm considering, and others I may not be aware of but should factor into the decision.
*Right now I have 29mm and 38mm MMT rockets, at some point 54mm is likely.
*I plan on earning L1 this summer, and possibly L2 this year as well.