Cutting G10 Disks

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

m85476585

Reaction score
After struggling to cut a G10 disk today, I came up with a good technique. There might be better ways to do this, like with a router, but I don't have one.

First I cut the rough shape of the disk from a sheet of .093 G10 (Garolite on McMaster.com) using my jigsaw. I cut it a little big since I am not good at making accurate cuts with the jigsaw, and I figured I could just sand it down. I use a carbide abrasive bit which I think was originally intended for cutting hardwood floors. Then I drilled a hole in the center and tightly bolted a machine screw in it. Next, I mounted the whole thing in my drill press.

Here's where I ran into trouble. First, I tried sanding it down with sandpaper on a sanding block. It kept bouncing off, and it didn't really do anything. Next I tried a sanding sponge. It worked to get it mostly smooth and round, but it wasn't taking off much material (I think most of the grit wore off the sponge). I went back to sandpaper on the sanding block. I went through 2 strips of 100 grit sandpaper, and it only removed a little bit of material. The sandpaper was worn out within seconds of touching the spinning disk. I kept it moving, but after a minute, it didn't seem like I was making any progress. I knew fiberglass would wear out the sandpaper quickly, but it would have taken hours to get the disk to the size I wanted, changing sandpaper every minute or two.