3D Printing Complete Newb Question

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fenbay

Reaction score
I'm just getting back into rocketry thanks to my 10yo son's interest after I used to build them with my father when I was a kid (I'm 46).

I always loved the plastic rockets that were sturdy compared to the balsa and cardboard more common rockets. I fondly recall an X-15 plastic model I had that lasted a very long time.

All this said, if one invests in a decent 3D printer and spends the time learning the ins-and outs, can you build entire rockets out of plastic (I think I saw something about ordering acrylic tubes) rather than being forced to use some cardboard parts and still use standard LPR engines successfully? I know weight is a major issue, but I wouldn't be looking to set any altitude records.

Thanks, and apologies if this questions doesn't really belong here.

Hi, welcome..

Yes. that's the short answer. yes, you can get a 3D printer, and print off a complete rocket. There are a few files out there, as well as some rocketry components.

Now, having said that, it isn't as robust as you might expect. The plastic is typically a plant based plastic: PLA. You can get other plastics (such as ABS) but they are a little more finicky to get printing right. And there's the additional cost & such. PLA is what everyone typically starts out with.

Depending, there will be some assembly; be it parts that needs to be assembled due to the limitations of the printer (like printing a long tube..) So, some assembly of plastic parts, or of wood & paper, there is some similarities.