Clustering Q-Jets

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Antares JS

Professional Amateur
TRF Supporter
Reaction score
I have a Boyce Gemini-Titan that I'm planning to fly on a pair of D16's per the manufacturer's recommendation. While I have plenty of experience at this point clustering BP, I've never clustered composite before. Would quickdip on the stock igniters help? I use it a lot on my BP motors. I've also heard that D16's have a tendency to chuff, which makes me really nervous. I don't know where Black Max falls on the easy/hard to start scale.

Are there any tips out there from someone who has clustered Q-jets before?

Last edited:
I clustered 6 D16's and an E, all composite, in a Clusterduck last year at MDRA. There was no chuffing on any of the motors and they all lit. The D10's were notorius for chuffing. They've been discontinued. I haven't heard of a problem with the D16's.

I clustered 6 D16's and an E, all composite, in a Clusterduck last year at MDRA. There was no chuffing on any of the motors and they all lit. The D10's were notorius for chuffing. They've been discontinued. I haven't heard of a problem with the D16's.

Maybe it was D10's I was thinking of...

When lighting that cluster, did you use the stock igniters and/or did you augment them in any way?

Also, *MDRA fistbump* I hope we can fly again soon with Maryland starting to open up.

I haven't clustered Q-Jets yet myself yet, but what I think I know is:
1) The Black Max is an easy-to-light propellant, and the stock igniters are fin as-is.
2) There have been other reports on TRF of folks successfully clustering them. I can't find any links quickly though.
3) I do recall hearing that the Q-Jets do sometimes like to chuff once before lighting, but I have *not* heard of it causing problems with clusters.