Cluster Mount Shock Cord Placement?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DigBaddy

It's OK to not know something
TRF Supporter
Reaction score
I'm new to the whole kevlar shock cord game, so thanks for bearing with me. I started a new project that uses a 3x18mm cluster mount from Rocketarium for a BT-80 tube. The front centering ring has a rather convenient hole in it and I suspect that could be used for passing the cord through to tie off to the beefy printed locking ring joining the tubes or mounting a small eye bolt to tie the cord to. But, I worry that the central position may not end up with good enough life for even a kevlar cord. Should I use that location with a bare cord, maybe add some shrinkwrap tubing near the motor mount, cut a small slot at the edge of the ring instead or just give up and tea bag it? :) Thanks for any insight!

IMG_20210325_064238792.jpg

How are you planning to retain your motors? If the middle is open in the back ring as well, I'd pass the cord through both and knot on the bottom so that the leader can eventually be replaced as needed.

How are you planning to retain your motors? If the middle is open in the back ring as well, I'd pass the cord through both and knot on the bottom so that the leader can eventually be replaced as needed.
Mount uses hooks on all tubes. Passing the cord through the rear ring as well is a good idea. Hadn't thought of that. Rear ring isn't glued to anything yet, so drilling a small center hole is easily doable.