Closed engine mount

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fyre

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to model rocketry, and this is my first post aswell. I have been designing 3d printed rocket parts, and I have a question about a triple engine mount design I had. I'll link the .stl file with the post, but to explain it, it is an engine mount that will fit into my fuselage and house my 3 a8-3 engines. In most other pre-made rocketry kits that I have seen, the other end of the rocket is exposed to the rest of the inside of the fuselage, with wadding to prevent it from burning the parachute. I was wondering if my design, which only has an opening on one side for the nozzle side, would have problems. If so, what can I do to solve this?

Attachments

• Engine housing.stl
    324 KB · Views: 12
How do you plan on deploying a parachute or streamer if your forward end is blocked?

Most black powder motors have an ejection charge and if you block the forward end of the motor mount the motor will eject out the back end of the rocket. This should usually be avoided, but some rockets are designed this way. However, they have a recovery system that will work anyway. The rocket may be very lightweight. It may use the ejection charge to snap the fins into a new position and the rocket helicopters down.

How do you plan on deploying a parachute or streamer if your forward end is blocked?

Most black powder motors have an ejection charge and if you block the forward end of the motor mount the motor will eject out the back end of the rocket. This should usually be avoided, but some rockets are designed this way. However, they have a recovery system that will work anyway. The rocket may be very lightweight. It may use the ejection charge to snap the fins into a new position and the rocket helicopters down.