"Cert racing" vs. skills development and creativity

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SolarYellow

Basket of deployables.
TRF Supporter
Reaction score
A couple of conversations in diverse areas of the forum led me to draft this response, but I figured it might be better to make it its own thread rather than threadjack one of those others.
------------------------
You can do DD on Estes kits with D motors or less. DD and HPR have traditionally been linked but you can do DD without needing HPR and you can do HPR without needing DD (until L3) Do whatcha enjoy

This. I'm pretty recently BARed and haven't built and flown much yet, but I'm an engineer who builds things. What's captivated me is the design/engineering and problem solving involved. It's fun in that I can let my creativity run without the actual construction costing so much it can materially impact my financial future. (That's a reality when it comes to the next four-wheeled idea I have.) On that note, I'm hesitant about L1 and pretty much not interested in L2 (yet, perhaps). The idea of turning >$100 into smoke and noise in less than three seconds still doesn't make sense to me, at least when it's my money.

With the current and upcoming generations of electronics, you can go DD with GPS tracking in a MD 24mm rocket. For example, I've put together an OR sim with an Eggfinder Mini in the nose cone and a standard mid-body split DD setup using a Quark. All in an Estes Black Brant kit that AC Supply sells for $8.99, and can be had by itself shipped for ~$17 all over the internet. You can duplicate it with a carbon fiber body tube and flat c.f. plate for fins, obtained inexpensively from a host of Chinese suppliers, if you want to play with the more powerful 24mm reloads and be robust through transonic (maybe changing to a clipped delta shape to address flutter...).