Can I replace the plastic cap for the ejection charge?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
well considering that the 38mm reloads come with both a red cap, and an adhesive coated paper disc...(which doesn't usually stay stuck), I would suggest some masking tape in a 'X' over the end.
rex

After you place the BP in the well, you should pack the rest of the well with some dog barf (loose insulation) or some other type of wadding. That way the BP is tightly contained and then proceed with taping like Rex said.

Hobby line cases don't have much of a well, though. I have never used a 24/40 before but the 29/40-120 comes with more black powder than the tiny little ring on the forward closure can fit.

Hobby line cases don't have much of a well, though. I have never used a 24/40 before but the 29/40-120 comes with more black powder than the tiny little ring on the forward closure can fit.

Exactly what I was thinking. The well will not hold the entired EC on the 24/40 case. You could build up the well with wraps of masking tape and get some extra room that way while not going as high as the red cap, though...

There is not enough room for the BP in the depression on top of the 24/40 casing. It was designed with the red cap as the charge holder. I don't see that the plastic cap will do any more damage than the clay plug on top of some BP engines, but if you are really concerned, slitting the top with an Exacto should reduce its tendency to fly off as a projectile. You could use masking tape to ensure that the slip stays closed until the ejection charge fires.

yes,
a couple wraps of the well with masking tape, and a couple pieces over the top of the well after you fill it.

This is how i use more BP than the reload comes with for my "larger" rockets.