Building from scratch for my senior project

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

h_kay19

a high school rocket enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Up until now, I've been building model rockets on my own just for fun, and have been really enjoying it. I've always wanted to build a scratch model, but honestly have no one to really show me the processes and techniques in doing so. I kind of have an idea of how to go about it, but that's just from reading off the forum for so long! Now as a student, I have to come up with my senior project, where the goal is to "learn a new skill or hobby" and present it to my school. That said, my idea is to design, build, and launch a rocket from scratch. Initially, I had hoped to come up with a creative design other than just a basic 3FNC rocket, but that might be difficult for my first scratch build.

Because of where I live, rocketry is not a huge hobby, and finding someone to guide me in doing this is pretty much impossible so I wanted to start this thread to ask for any tips, tricks, techniques, warnings, etc:). Where do I start? Is openrocket worth looking into? Should I attempt something more unorthodox? What's the best site to buy parts? I'm just asking for any general advice you guys might have for me. And lastly, what's the first scratch build you guys have done? I'm always open to inspiration. Thanks!

That sounds like a great project. Here are a few random thoughts, in no particular order.

1) What have you built so far? This will give us a general idea of your current skill level. Some pictures would be great as well, just because... well, we love pictures. :)

2) Yes, OpenRocket is definitely worth it, both in general and as part of "learning a new skill". Start with one of the packaged installers here, and post to the Electronics and Software forum with any questions.