Building a 2.1" Avionics Bay for a PerfectFlight MAWD Altimeter

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Estimado

Reaction score
Hello,
I am rebuilding a PML Io into a dual-deploy configuration. I am building an avionic bay using a four inch coupler. Obviously, room is tight. Does anyone have experience or pictures from a similar avionics bay project?

I am using a G10 sled. Do you have any recommendations for what size U-bolts to use on each bulkhead? The nuts and washers protruding inside will be an issue. Are there any appropriate small sized terminal blocks available for mounting to the outside of the bulkheads? Or, would it be ok to just run bare wires through the bulkheads for connection to BP charge ignitors?

Rich

I just did this with the LOC 2.5" coupler which is 5" long, and it seemed awfully tight with THAT... But then again, I've no experience with getting a lot of electronics into a small space. I included a couple pics of what I did.

As for the protruding bolts, you can remove some of the bolt which extrudes past the nut with a dremel tool. It'll heat the whole thing up very hot, very quickly, so I suggest having the U portion sitting in some cool water to wick the heat away while you work.

sled-front.jpg

sled-back.jpg

dremel.jpg

dremel2.jpg

Hello,
I am rebuilding a PML Io into a dual-deploy configuration. I am building an avionic bay using a four inch coupler. Obviously, room is tight. Does anyone have experience or pictures from a similar avionics bay project?

Yes, as a matter of fact I do!:) This is from my NSL Thor..38mm main body tube..
Here is the 'coupler' used as the avbay:
AltimeterBay001.jpg